The Convention defines torture and requires that states make it a punishable offence. It provides for states to prosecute or extradite alleged- torturers and sets up machinery for monitoring the application of the Convention.

The Governments of all Canadian provinces have informed the federal government that they accept the basic principles of the Convention. The federal Department of Justice has now initiated a detailed review of the Convention and of its implications for federal legislation in Canada. Detailed consultations will also be conducted with the provinces before ratification.

To date 32 states have signed the Convention. It will enter into force after the deposit of the twentieth instrument of ratification or accession.