Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) 1996²⁵

The CTBT was also negotiated in the Conference on Disarmament. By its own terms, the Treaty cannot enter into force until it has been ratified by the United States and 43 other specified states with nuclear power or research reactors. So far, it has been signed by all those specified states except for India, Pakistan, and North Korea, and it has been ratified by 30 of the required 44, including Britain, France and Russia. The US has not ratified the Treaty.

State Parties undertake not to carry out any nuclear weapon test explosion or any other nuclear explosion; to prohibit and prevent any nuclear explosions at any place under its jurisdiction or control; and to refrain from causing, encouraging, or in any away participating in the carrying out of nuclear weapon test explosion or any other nuclear explosion. (Article I).

By outlawing all nuclear explosions, parties to the Treaty accept a constraint on their ability to develop new types of nuclear weapons. The CTBT in conjunction with other measures, slows the acquisition and advancement of nuclear weapon capabilities while nuclear weapon states decide how fast and how far to go with nuclear reductions.

Support for "zero yield" CTBT by countries such as the US had been linked to the establishment of safeguards that define the conditions under which a country can enter into a CTBT. These safeguards are:

(1) the conduct of a science based stockpile stewardship program to ensure a high level of confidence in the safety and reliability of nuclear weapons in the active stockpile; (2) the maintenance of nuclear laboratory facilities and programs; (3) the maintenance of the basic capability to resume nuclear testing activities prohibited by the treaty; (4) continuation of a comprehensive research and development program to improve treaty monitoring capabilities and operations; (5) the continuing development of a broad range of intelligence gathering and analytical capabilities and operations; (6) possibility of with drawing under the "supreme national interests" clause.

Article II establishes the Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty organization (CNTBTO) which will ensure treaty compliance and provide States Parties with a forum for consultation and cooperation. The principal decision-making body is the Executive Council, composed of 51 members. Members are selected taking into account geographical distribution and reflect the nuclear capabilities.

Article IV and the verification protocol establish the treaty's verification regime which consists of four (4) basic elements:

- an International Monitoring System (IMS)
- consultation and clarification
- on-site inspections
- confidence-building measures (CBMs)

The purpose of the IMS is to detect and identify nuclear explosions prohibited under the treaty. The system is composed of a network of seismological monitoring stations designed to detect seismic activity. The host state and location of each facility is listed in Annex 1 to the Protocol.

²⁵ The Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty 1996. Opened for signature on 24 September 1996; not entered into force yet. As of 2000 it has been signed by 160 countries and ratified by 69.