### International Court of Justice

The Court consists of fifteen judges elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council, proceeding independently. They serve nine years and are eligible for re-election. To provide for rotation, however, the Statute of the Court states that of the members elected at the first election, the terms of office of five judges should expire at the end of three years, and the terms of five more at the end of six years. The judges who were to serve the initial three and six-year periods were chosen by lot. The terms of office began on the date of the first election, February 6, 1946. The present judges of the Court, with the year their term of office ends, are as follows:

	End of
Judge	term
Green H. Hackworth, President,	
of the United States	1961
Abdel Hamid Badawi,	
Vice-President, of Egypt	1967
Helge Klaestad, of Norway	1961
Muhammad Zafrulla Khan,	
of Pakistan	1961
Feodor Ivanovich Kozhevnikov,	1011
of the U.S.S.R.	1961
E. C. Armand-Ugon,	1961
of Uruguay	1901
L. M. Moreno Quintana,	1964
of Argentina	1904
José Gustavo Guerrero of El Salvador (deceased)	
Jules Basdevant, of France	1964
Roberto Cordova, of Mexico	1964
Hersch Lauterpacht,	1,01
of the United Kingdom	1964
Sir Percy C. Spender,	
of Australia	1967
Wellington Koo, of China	1967
Bohdam Winiarski, of Poland	
Jean Spiropoulos, of Greece	1967

### Disarmament Commission<sup>1</sup>

Membership for 1958

Burma

Canada	Czechoslovakia
France	Egypt
U.S.S.R.	India
United Kingdom	Italy
United States	Mexico
Argentina	Norway
Australia	Poland
Belgium	Tunisia
Brazil	Yugoslavia

# Appendix III

Principal Meetings of the United Nations and Specialized Agencies during 1958 and Canadian representation at the third emergency special session and the thirteenth regular session of the General Assembly.

#### General Assembly

Third emergency special session, New York. August 8-21, 1958. Representatives: Chairman of the Delegation: Hon. S. E. Smith, Secretary of State for External Affairs; Mr. C. S. A. Ritchie, Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations; Mr. N. A. Robertson, Canadian Ambassador to the United States of America.

Thirteenth regular session, New York. September 16-December 14, 1958. Representatives: Chairman of the Delegation: Hon. S. E. Smith, Secretary of State for External Affairs; Vice-Chairman: Hon. W. J. Browne, M.P., Q.C., Minister without Portfolio; Mr. G. S. Thorvaldson, Senator; Dr. R. P. Vivian, M.D., M.P.; Mr. C. S. A. Ritchie, Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations; Alternate Representatives: Mr. H. N. Macquarrie, M.P.; Mr. J. N. Tremblay, M.P.; Mrs. W. T. Hayden; Mr. J. Morin, Q.C.; Mr. J. W. Holmes, Assistant Under-Secretary of State for

## **Economic and Social Council**

Twenty-fifth session, New York, April 15-May 2, 1958.
Twenty-sixth session, Geneva, July 1-31, 1958.

Resumed twenty-sixth session, New York, October 23, December 10 and 11, 1958.

## Trusteeship Council

External Affairs.

Twenty-first session, New York, January 30-March 26, 1958.
Twenty-second session, New York, June 9-August 1, 1958.
Eighth special session, New York, October

13-17, 1958.

#### Food and Agriculture Organization

The Conference is held every second year and will meet in November 1959
Twenty-ninth session of the Council,
Rome, October 27-November 7, 1958

#### International Atomic Energy Agency

Second General Conference, Vienna, September 22-October 3, 1958

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>This Commission was established on January 11, 1952, by the General Assembly, to function under and report to the Security Council (see "Canada and the United Nations"—1951-52, Appendix V, pp. 157-158). A change in the composition of the Commission took effect January 1, 1958, with the Permanent Membership being expanded by resolution 1150 (XII) of November 19, 1957, of the General Assembly, adding fourteen to the permanent membership for 1958. However, the Soviet Delegation indicated that it would refuse to participate in any work of the Disarmament Commission, either in its expanded or original composition, and neither the Disarmament Commission nor its Sub-Committee (the first five members listed above) met in 1958. A resolution passed in the thirteenth session of the General Assembly set up for 1959 a Disarmament Commission of all members of the United Nations on an *ad hoc* basis. (For details see Article on Disarmament, Chapter II).