and called a General Assembly of this Island, and having appointed the same to meet for the despatch of business this day, the following are the names of the members of the Honorable the Legislative Council above mentioned, viz.

The Hon. JAMES SIMMS, Her Majesty's Attorney General.

JAMES CROWDY, Colonial Secretary.

JOHN DUNSCOMB.

WILLIAM THOMAS.

PATRICK MORRIS, Colonial Treasurer.

WILLIAM BICKFORD ROW.

JAMES TOBIN.

JOSEPH NOAD, Surveyor General. CHARLES FOX BENNETT.

" 66

JOHN KENT.

Members returned.

The following are the names of the Members returned duly elected by the Returning Officers for the several districts of the colony, to represent the same in the said General Assembly, summoned to meet as before mentioned, viz.

District of St. John's-LAWRENCE O'BRIEN. JOHN VALENTINE NUGENT. WILLIAM CARSON.

District of Conception Bay-THOMAS RIDLEY. JOHN MUNN. JAMES LUKE PRENDERGAST. EDMUND HANRAHAN.

District of Trinity Bay—RICHARD BARNES.

District of Bonavista Bay-ROBERT CARTER.

District of Ferryland-THOMAS GLEN.

District of Placentia & St. Mary's-JOHN DILLON. SIMON MORRIS.

District of Burin-CLEMENT BENNING.

District of Fortune Bay—BRYAN ROBINSON.

District of Fogo-Return not yet received.

Commission for administering State Oaths to elected Members.

By virtue of a Commission under the Great Scal of the Island, directed to the Hon. James Simms, the Hon. John Dunscomb, and the Hon. Joseph Noad, which is as follows:-

J. HARVEY. (L. S.)

VICTORIA, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ircland, Queen, Defender of the Faith.

To ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME GREETING,-

KNOW YE that We have constituted and appointed, and by these Presents do constitute and appoint the Honorable James Simms, John Dunscomb, and Joseph Noad, Members of Our Legislative Council, of Our Island of New-