Judges for this year's PAFSO awards were the Honourable Gerard Pelletier, Hedevig Ring, Blair Seaborn and Frank Petrie. The awards were presented at the first annual PAFSO dinner.

2

The Public Service of Canada also recently honoured eight departmental employees. Five employees from the Canadian Embassy in Kuwait and three employees from the Canadian Embassy in Iraq were presented with Awards of Excellence at a special ceremony in Ottawa on May 22.

The recipients -- Janice E. Attree-Smith, William R. Bowden, Dale E. Carl, Brian K. Friebel, Louise Friebel, Jean J. Gauthier, Ron N. Waugh and Sharon Waugh -- received the awards for their dedication and service to Canada and Canadians throughout August, September and October 1990 during the Iraqi occupation of Kuwait. Despite considerable uncertainty over their personal safety, these employees continued to provide consular services to Canadians in the area.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Debra Hulley Professional Association of Foreign Service Officers (613) 234-1391