North and North-Western Limits

EXTRACT

FLOM THE

JOURNALS OF THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

OF THE

PROVINCE OF QUEBEC

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY,

Quebec, 14th June, 1886.

Second Report of the Select Committee appointed "to consider the question "of the Northern and North Western limits of the Province of Quebec," and the necessary measures to be taken in order that such limits do include the Territories to which it is entitled, by establishing and defining such rights.

Your Committee respectfully submits to Your Honourable House the following Report:

With the view of finding out and defining these limits, it has carefully studied all the Acts of the Imperial Parliament concerning the same and especially the Act of 1774, intituled the "Quebec Act," the Act of 1790, 31 George III, chap. 31, and the "British North America Act" of 1867.

The British North America Act of 1867, 30-31 Victoria, chap. 3, to which we owe our present political existence, assigns the following limits to the different Provinces, respectively:

Sec. 5.—"Canada shall be divided into four Provinces, named Ontario, "Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick."

Sec. 6.—"The parts of the Province of Canada, (as it exists at the passing of "this Act) which formerly constituted respectively the Provinces of Upper and "Lower Canada shall be deemed to be severed, and shall form two separate pro"vinces. The part which formerly constituted the Province of Upper Canada "shall constitute the Province of Ontario, and the part which formerly consti"tuted the Province of Lower Canada shall constitute the Province of Quebec."

The Statute which precedes the British North America Act of 1867, and which is referred to in the above mentioned section, is the Union Act of 1840, 3 and 4 Victoria, chap. 35.

The first section thereof merely states that after the proclamation to be issued within fifteen months following the passing of the Act, the two provinces respectively called Upper and Lower Canada, will form and constitute but one and the same province under the name of the "Province of Canada."