Korchinski

Gervais

Gibson

Gillespie

Division

continue this evening until we give the bill third reading. I think it would be desirable if we had consent to dispose of third reading, and if we could agree on this matter before ringing the bells, it would be helpful.

An hon. Member: No; ring the bells.

Mr. Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre): Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. We can hardly dispose of third reading before we take a vote on the report stage. If the minister would ask after the vote that we continue to deal with third reading, as far as my colleagues and I are concerned we would have no objection.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): Does the House agree that the hour of sitting shall be extended in order to complete third reading of this bill?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): There does not seem to be unanimous consent.

Mr. MacLean: Mr. Speaker, if we could agree that the House will not automatically rise immediately after this vote is taken, perhaps we could continue to sit for a period following the vote and then we could decide what to do.

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): Is there unanimous consent that the House will continue this sitting for a short time after the vote is taken until there is agreement in respect of the conclusion of this debate?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): Call in the members.

The House divided on motion No. 1 (Mr. Knowles, Winnipeg North Centre) which was negatived on the following division:

• (10:00 p.m.)

YEAS

Messrs:

Alexander Alkenbrack Baldwin Beaudoin Bell Benjamin Bigg Broadbent Burton Cadieu Coates Comeau Crouse Dinsdale Dionne Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The

Islands)

Fairweather Flemming Fortin Gauthier Gilbert Gleave Godin Grills Gundlock Hales Harding Horner Howard (Skeena) Howe Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-

Haldimand)

[Mr. MacEachen.]

Messrs:

Nystrom

Orlikow Lambert (Bellechasse) Paproski Lambert Peddle (Edmonton West) Peters Laprise Ricard La Salle Ritchie Latulippe Rodrigue Lewis Rondeau Lundrigan Rose Rowland MacEwan MacInnis (Cape Rvan Rynard Breton-East Saltsman Richmond) Scott MacInnis (Mrs.) Skoberg MacLean Southam Macquarrie Stanfield McCleave Stewart McCutcheon (Marquette) McGrath Thomas McKinley (Moneton) Marshall Thompson Mather (Red Deer) Mazankowski Thomson Monteith (Battleford-Muir Kindersley) Murta Yewchuk-79. Nesbitt

NAYS

Messrs:

Givens Allmand Goode Anderson Groos Andras Guay (St. Boniface) Badanai Hellyer Barrett Hogarth Béchard Hopkins Beer Howard (Okanagan Benson Boundary) Blouin Hymmen Borrie Isabelle Boulanger Jerome Breau Kaplan Buchanan Lang (Saskatoon-Caccia Humboldt) Cafik Chappell Langlois Chrétien Laniel LeBlanc (Rimouski) Clermont Cobbe Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Comtois Corbin Lind Loiselle Corriveau MacEachen Côté (Longueuil) MacGuigan Crossman Mackasey McNulty Danson Mahoney Davis Marceau Deachman Marchand Deakon (Kamloops-De Bané Cariboo) Douglas Morison (Assiniboia) Munro Dubé Murphy Dupras Noël Duquet O'Connell Forest Olson Forget Osler Foster Otto Francis Gendron Pelletier

Penner

Perrault

Pepin