WEDNESDAY, APRIL 16, 1986 (56)

The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met at 3:30 p.m. this day *in camera*, the Chairman, the Honourable Senator Lowell Murray, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: The Honourable Senators Anderson, Buckwold, Flynn, Godfrey, MacDonald (Halifax), Murray, Perrault, Roblin and Simard. (9)

Other Senator present: The Honourable Senator Sinclair.

In attendance: From the Department of Economics, University of Western Ontario: Professor Thomas J. Courchene, Advisor; From Martineau Walker, Montreal: Mr. Gérald A. Lacoste, Counsel; From the Library of Parliament, Research Branch, Economics Division: Mr. Basil Zafiriou, Chief.

The Committee, in compliance with the Order of Reference dated June 25, 1985, resumed consideration of:

- (i) the document entitled: "The Regulation of Canadian Financial Institutions: Proposals for Discussion", tabled in the Senate on 23rd April, 1985:
- the document entitled: "Final Report of the Working Committee on the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC)", tabled in the Senate on 18th June, 1985; and
- (iii) the subject-matter of bills, in advance of their coming before the Senate, and other matters relating to these documents.

It was-

Ordered, that the Committee meet in camera.

At 5:14 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 23, 1986 (58)

The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met at 4:00 p.m. this day *in camera*, the Chairman, the Honourable Senator Lowell Murray, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: The Honourable Senators Anderson, Flynn, Godfrey, Kelly, MacDonald (Halifax), Murray and Roblin. (7)

Other Senator present: The Honourable Senator Sinclair.

In attendance: From the Department of Economics, University of Western Ontario: Professor Thomas J. Courchene, Advisor; From Martineau Walker, Montreal: Mr. Gérald A. Lacoste, Counsel; From the Library of Parliament, Research Branch, Economics Division: Mr. Basil Zafiriou, Chief.

Also in attendance: The Official Reporters of the Senate.

The Committee, in compliance with the Order of Reference dated June 25, 1985, resumed consideration of: