## REDISTRIBUTION

14. WINNIPEG SOUTH CENTRE consisting of the Rural Municipality of St. James and that part of the city of Winnipeg bounded as follows: on the south by the left bank of the Assiniboine River; on the west and on the east by the city limits; on the north by a line described as follows: commencing at the intersection of the west boundary of aforesaid city with Ellice Avenue; thence easterly along Ellice Avenue to Balmoral Street; thence northerly along Balmoral Street to Notre Dame Avenue West; thence southeasterly along Notre Dame Avenue West, Portage Avenue and Main street to Notre Dame Avenue East; thence southeasterly along Notre Dame Avenue East and its projection to the city boundary.

14. Change in boundary.

## Respectfully submitted.

(Signed) FERNAND VIAU.

Mr. Viau moved the adoption of the said report.

A debate followed in which Messrs. Viau, Ross (Souris) and others took an active part.

And the question having been put on the proposed motion of Mr. Viau the said motion was, on a show of hands, resolved in the affirmative, on the following division: Yeas: 19; Nays: 11.

At 12.45 o'clock p.m. the Committee adjourned to meet again at 8.30 o'clock p.m.

## 8.30 o'clock p.m.

The Committee met at 8.30 o'clock p.m. The chairman, Hon. Walter Harris, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Applewhaite, Argue, Balcer, Blair, Decore, Denis, Dewar, Diefenbaker, Fair, Fulton, Gauthier (Sudbury), Gauthier (Portneuf), Harkness, Harris (Grey-Bruce), Johnston, Kirk (Antigonish-Guysborough), Knowles, MacNaught, McWilliam, Mott, Murphy, Nowlan, Picard, Robinson, Ross (Souris), Viau, Welbourn, Whitman, Winkler, Wright.

In attendance: Mr. Nelson Castonguay, Chief Electoral Officer.

The Committee resumed consideration of the schedule to the proposed bill to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons.

The Committee continued the study of the report of the province of Saskatchewan sub-committee, the descriptions of the new boundaries of which follow:

"There shall be in the province of Saskatchewan seventeen electoral districts, named and described as follows, each of which shall elect and return one member.

In the following descriptions "township", "range" and "section" refer to the townships, ranges and sections in accordance with the Dominion Lands system of surveys and include the extension thereof in accordance with the said system.

Reference to "river" in the following descriptions signifies the centre line of such river unless otherwise described.