the field, at Fort Smith for the Mackenzie District, and at Ottawa for the Keewatin and Franklin Districts in the Eastern Arctic. The District Administrator is assisted by Regional and Area Administrative Officers at various places throughout the Territories.

. Municipal Government

In addition to the Federal Government and the separate governments of the provinces and territories, there are also various units of local government. These may take a number of different forms, such as cities, towns, villages, counties, townships, etc. Their powers are laid down by legislation enacted by the appropriate provincial or territorial government. In some cases the powers are found in special charters or statutes creating a particular city, town or other form of government; in most cases, however, the form of local government and the powers and responsibilities attached thereto are to be found in municipal acts or other general statutes applicable throughout the province or territory. The qualifications of electors, as well as the qualifications for holding office are similarly regulated either by a special act or charter, or by general legislation establishing such forms of government.

RP/A