Great Pumpkin - a UNB tradition

news October 28, 1983

BY KEITH MCCARTHY All Hallows' Eve 83 will mark the tenth anniversary of the "Great Pumpkin" cer-

mony. In its short but illustrious history it has grown from a small event to one involving upwards of

one thousand participants and spectators. This does

not include those who have viewed the spectacle on television as either CBC or

CTV has carried the event three of the past 5 years.

The ceremony is conducted by the members of "Harrison House", exHarrisonians, and a number of dignitaries from the university. The sacrifice is

performed with three primary goals, those being: (1) The unification of a

residence membership in an attempt to foster "fraternal" friendship and strong house

spirit. (2) To perform a religious ceremony of prayer and thanks for the

bountiful Arcadian harvest (symbolized by the pumpkin) which is the mainstay

of life and socio-economic conditions of our environment. (3) A religious ceremony of prayer for a boutiful ACADEMIC harvest, for ALL students, which is

necessary and basic for a successful university education.

Following last years ceremony, public opinion in the Brunswickan was very

enlightening and rewarding to we members of Harrison House. It showed us that we

have the backing of the great majority of students here at the University. Perhaps this served to show

those who attempted to disrupt the ceremony that they were simply entertaining themselves and merely

plications committee were

annoying those who wished to view the spectacle in a civil manner.

So why not come out and view the tenth annual

"Great Pumpkin" ceremony at 12:00 midnight, October 31st. This unique and much "envied event promises to be the best yet!

SRC Nominations

a sala ta sun a man anna ta ta an an	
Student Union President	
John Bosnitch	Eng 6
Richard Burton	Sci 4
Scott Thomas	Eng 5
Vice President	
Steven Brooks	BBA 3
Brenda Paul	BA 3
Comptroller	
Hugh M. Brown	BBA 3
Aubrey Kirkpatrick Board of Governors	BBA 4
	Law 1
Mary Abraham Suzanne Currie	Eng 3
Oliver Koncz	BBA 5
Scott Thomas	Eng 5
Senate	
Ross Finlay Antworth	BBA 3
John Bosnitch	Eng 6
Suzanne Currie	Eng 3
Scott Thomas	Eng 5
Graduating Class Prez.	
Kent Ross Guptill	Eng
Graduating Class V.P.	
Deborah Annette Hempel	Eng 5
Graduating Class Tres.	
Wendy Alexander	Eng 4
Graduating Class Val.	
Deana Johnson	Ed 4
Jamie Morton	B 5
David Reckziegel	Eng 5
Forestry (1 full trm)	the state of the
Christopher Chapman	For 2
John LeGresley	For 1
Education (2 full)	Ed 2
Lynda Banks	Ed 4
Gordon Boulay	Ed 2
Chris Stanton	
Science (2 full)	Sci 1
Michael Gordon Garvie	Sci 2
Darren C. Brown	JUIZ
Business (2 full)	
Ross Antworth	BBA 3
Jeffrey Baggaley	BBA 2
Computer Science (1 f.)	CS 4
Terry Morrison	
Phys. Ed. (1 full)	PEd 2
Brien Donovan Arts (1 full)	1 20 2
Shelley Snow	BA 3
Engineering (2 full)	
Lauchlin A. Murray	Eng 4
Nursing (1 full(
1 Other Needed Nominations of	pen until 5 p.m.,
Wed., Nov. 2	
Weu., 1404. 2	

SRC Controversy Resolved

BY DAVID MOGILEVSKY Brunswickan Staff

For the past two weeks, a coutroversy has been brewing in the SRC. The issue that is provoking a great deal of debate is how the SRC is going to appoint six students to the Board of Directors of the Student Union Building. The voting membership of the Board of Directors consists of three students appointed by STU SRC, six students appointed by UNB SRC, and two members designated by the Board of Governors of the University of New Brunswick. Since the Board of Directors is responsible for the SUB, members of the Board have a great deal of authority. The Board of Governors of UNB has ultimate responsibility for the SUB but traditionally leaves the running of the SUB in the hands of the SUB **Board of Directors.** The normal procedure for appointing the six UNB members is on paper quite simple. First the applications committee, made up of five students appointed by the SRC, meets to interview all the candidates for the positions and then decides on which six to recommend. This recommendation is given to the President of the SRC who then informs the SRC of the

names of the recommended six students. It is generally assumed that after some discussion the six students recommended by the applications committee would be appointed officially to the SUB Board of Directors. This is the way the system is supposed to work, however, the actual process has been greatly complicated.

The complications began on Oct. 3, 1983 when the SRC appointed Darren Evans, Debbie Watson, Terry Morrison, Hillary Earl and Michael Garvie to the Applications Committee. Later, the newly formed Applications Committee met to review the applications for the SUB Board of Directors. During this meeting the committee decided to recommend six students to be on the SUB Board from eleven applications. It should be noted at this time that the applications committee only reviewed the various applications and did not, contrary to the by-laws of the Student Union, actually interview all the candidates. The Committee was unaware of this rule at that time.

presented. At this meeting Debbie Watson, chairman of the Application Committee and also Business Representative on the SRC, objected to the consideration of the six names for the SUB Board because the applicants were not interviewed as is required. The chairman of the SRC, Timothy Lethbridge agreed with Watson. Normally what would have happened would be that the applications committee would interview all the applicants, since the committee failed to previously, and then, with this additional information, decide on the names of the six students to serve on the SUB Board.

THE BRUNSWICKAN-3

The next major event occurred at the SRC meeting on Oct. 17, 1983 when the names of the six students recommended by the apA complication then arose at this point because three of the five people on the application committee were applying to be on the SUB Board. This conflict of interest would obviously create some problems.

The SRC resolved this matter at the council meeting held this week by by-passing the applications committee. At this SRC meeting the SRC interviewed all of the candidates present and then picked six to be on the SUB Board. The six students are Darren Evans, Janet Thornton, Debbie Watson, John Bosnitch, Andre Faust, and Brent Bartley.