Several motions were submitted, voted upon and lost. The following was carried by a vote of 18 to 8. The committee express its satisfaction at the desire manifested on the part of the Maitland Presbytery to take under its care a portion of the Mission field indicated, and commend the proposal to the serious consideration of the Synod of Hamilton and London and the Presbyteries of Bruce and Maitland.

MISSIONARY APPOINTMENTS.—Dr. Laing, on behalf of the Committee appointed for the purpose, submitted the following report:—

1. That before appointing Ministers, Licentiates, Students or Catechists to supply a Mission Station which has a grant from the Home Mission Committee, Presbyteries shall report the names of all Missionaries whom they wish to be appointed, to the Committee or the Executive sub-Committee for approval before their meetings in March and October; and that only such Students and Catechists as have obtained such approval shall be entitled to grants from the Home Mission fund.

2. That the Committee shall specify the amount which a Minister, Student or Catechist—as the case may be—is entitled to draw from the grants made to each particular Station.

3. That after the expiry of the term of engagement of any ordained Missionary to a particular field, before any re-engagement is entered into by a Presbytery, the Presbytery shall report as to the acceptability and efficiency of the Missionary, and its opinion as to the desirableness of appointing him a second time, with a view to the approval of the H. M. Committee.

The report was referred to the Executive, the Committee agreeing meantime to print it for the information of Presbyteries.

Co-operation of Women.—It was agreed to ask the General Assembly to take action, so as to secure the active co-operation of the Women of the Church in the furtherance of Home Mission work.

THANKS TO ST. ANDREW'S CHURCH.—A cordial vote of thanks was passed to the Minister and Trustees of St. Andrew's Church for the gratuitous use of their lecture room for the regular meetings of the Committee and of the Executive.

EXECUTIVE SUB-COMMITTEE.—The following is the Executive for the year:—Dr. Cochrane (convener), Dr. Campbell, Dr. Robertson, Dr. Laing, Messrs. D. J. Macdonnell, A. Tolmie, F. W. Farries, J. Somerville, R. Moodie, W. Mitchell, R. Kilgour and R. H. Warden.

Augmentation Sub-Committee.—The sub-committee on the Augmentation of Stipends is as follows:—Mr. D. J. Macdonnell,

Messrs.
Mitchel

CLO Thursd

RO