# House of Commons Debates

## OFFICIAL REPORT

# Tuesday, June 4, 1935

The house met at three o'clock.

#### PRIVATE BILLS COMMITTEE

Second report of the select standing committee on miscellaneous private bills-Mr. Stinson.

#### HYNDMAN COMMISSION

Hon. D. M. SUTHERLAND (Minister of Pensions and National Health) moved:

That there be printed 400 copies in English and 200 in French of the report of the Hyndman commission on unemployment conditions among ex-service men.

Motion agreed to.

#### PRIVATE BILL

Mr. ONESIME GAGNON (Dorchester) moved:

That the petition of The Community General Hospital, Alms House and Seminary of Learning of the Sisters of Charity at Ottawa, presented on June 3, praying for the passing of an act of reincorporation under the name of The Community General Hospital, Alms House and Seminary of Learning of the Alms House and Seminary of Learning of the Sisters of Charity at Ottawa, Canada, together with the report of the clerk of petitions thereon, be referred to the standing committee on standing orders for the purpose of considering the suspension of standing orders 92 93 (3) (a) and (c) and 95 in relation thereto. thereto.

Motion agreed to.

## REGULATION OF WHALING

APPROVAL OF INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION SIGNED AT GENEVA

Right Hon. R. B. BENNETT (Prime Minister) moved:

That it is expedient that parliament do approve of the international convention for the regulation of whaling signed at Geneva on the twenty-fourth day of September, 1931, reading as follows:

Convention for the Regulation of Whaling Geneva, September 24, 1931.

His Majesty the King of the Albanians; the President of the German Reich; the President of the United States of America; His Majesty the King of the Belgians; His Majesty the King of Great Britain, Ireland and the British 92582-207

Dominions beyond the Seas, Emperor of India; the President of Republic of Colombia; His Majesty the King of Denmark and Iceland; the President of the Government of the Spanish Republic; the President of the French Republic of Finland; the President of the French Republic; the President of the Hellenic Republic; His Majesty the King of Italy; the President of the United States of Mexico; His Majesty the King of Norway; Her Majesty the Queen of the Netherlands; the President of the Polish Republic; His Majesty the King of Roumania; the Swiss Federal Council; the President of the Turkish Republic; His Majesty the King of Yugoslavia have appointed as their plenipotentiaries the following: potentiaries the following:

His Majesty the King of the Albanians:
M. Lee Kurti, Resident Minister, Permanent
Delegate accredited to the League of Nations. The President of the German Reich:

M. Hans Hermann Völckers, Consul-General at Geneva.

The President of the United States of America:
Mr. Hugh R. Wilson, Envoy Extraordinary
and Minister Plenipotentiary to the Swiss Federal Council.

His Majesty the King of the Belgians: M. P. Hymans, Minister for Foreign Affairs.

His Majesty the King of Great Britain, Ireland and the British Dominions beyond the Seas, Emperor of India: For Great Britain and Northern Ireland and

all parts of the British Empire which are not separate members of the League of Nations:

The Right Honourable Viscount Cecil of Chelwood, K.C.

For the Dominion of Canada:

For the Dominion of Canada:
The Honourable Hugh Guthrie, P.C., K.C.,
M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney-General.
For the Commonwealth of Australia:
Mr. James R. Collins, C.M.G., C.B.E., Official
Secretary and Financial Adviser in the Office
of the High Commissioner in London.
For the Dominion of New Zealand:
Sir Thomas Mason Wilford, K.C.M.G., K.C.,
High Commissioner in London.
For the Union of South Africa:
Mr. C. T. te Water, High Commissioner in
London.

London.

For India: Sir Brojendra L. Mitter, Kt., Law Member of the Viceroy's Executive Council.

The President of the Republic of Colombia: Dr. A. J. Restrepo, Permanent Delegate accredited to the League of Nations.

His Majesty the King of Denmark and Iceland:
M. William Borberg, Permanent Delegate
accredited to the League of Nations.

The President of the Government of the Spanish Republic:

M. Alejandro Lerroux García, Minister of State.

REVISED EDITION