1905, took the title of Lord Loreburn. He was created Earl Loreburn in 1911.

Two more retiring Presidents of that division, have been ennobled—Sir John Gorell Barnes, in 1909, as Lord Gorell, and Sir John Bigham, in 1910, as Lord Mersey. An interesting new departure was made in 1910, when Sir John Henry de Villiers, the veteran Colonial lawyer who had been Chief Justice of Cape Colony since 1874, and became Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of South Africa, was created Lord de Villiers.

In 1911, Mr. Haldane, K.C., the Secretary of State for War, was created Viscount Haldane of Cloan. He was subsequently nominated a member of the Judicial Committee, and thus became qualified to sit as a Lord of Appeal. Since 1912 he has been Lord Chancellor. Among the New Year honours of 1914 were three legal pecrages—Lord Reading (Sir Rufus Isaaes), the Lord Chief Justice of England; Lord Strathelyde (Alexander Ure), the Lord Justice-General and Lord President of the Court of Session: and Lord Parmoor (Sir Charles Alfred Cripps, K.C.), whose nomination as a member of the Judicial Committee qualifies him to sit as a Lord of Appeal. Later in the year the Master of the Rolls became a peer by the title of Lord Cozens-Hardy.

Finally, under the title Baron Wrenbury of Old Castle, Co. Sussex, the Lords have secured the judicial strength of one who, as Mr. Justice and Lord Justice Buckley, has been such an efficient judge in the Chancery Division and Court of Appeal. It is noticeable that on the creation of hereditary peerages, about one-third of the newly created peers have taken their surname as their title, about two-thirds taking some territorial title. In the case of life peerages created under the Act of 1876, the convention is entirely different. Only one of the nineteen life peers so created has not adopted his surname as his title. The exception is Lord Sumner of Ibstone, whose surname. Hamilton, was already the style of a dukedom, a baronage, and several courtesy titles.—La Times.