## 11

## BY-ELECTIONS-PAST AND PENDING.

SINCE the Borden Ministry assumed office on October 10th, 1911, there have been in all 23 by-elections. Of these 15 were the elections of the Ministers, none of whom were opposed. A by-election was held in Hochelaga, Quebec, on November 19th, 1912, consequent upon the appointment of Mr. Louis Coderre, the sitting member, as Secretary of State, and a by-election in Portagela-Prairie, Manitoba, on July 19th of the present year, following the appointment of Mr. Arthur Meighen, the sitting member, as Solicitor General. In neither of these instances was the Government candidate opposed by Liberals, though Mr. Coderre was opposed by a Labour-Nationalist candidate. Of the remaining six by-elections, three were occasioned by the appointment to office of the sitting member, one by the death of the sitting member, one by the resignation of the sitting member in order to open the riding, and one on accouunt of the unseating of the sitting member under the Dominion Controverted Elections Act. Of these six constituencies, four were represented by Conservatives prior to the byelections, and two by Liberals. In all cases the representation remained unchanged; in three cases the candidates were returned unopposed; in one case, that of the by-election in Macdonald, Manitoba, a protest has been entered on the ground of corrupt practices but the

petition has not yet been heard by the courts.

By-elections are pending for the House of Commons in the constituencies of South Lanark, East Middlesex, Chateauguay, and South Bruce, respectively. Three of these have been occasioned by the death during the past session, of the sitting members, the late Hon. John Haggart (C) in South Lanark; Mr. Peter Elson (C) in East Middlesex, and Mr. J. Brown (L) in Chateauguay. The fourth constituency, South Bruce, was opened by the elevation of the sitting member, Mr. J. Donnelly (C) to the Senate.

**South Lanark** has been Conservative since Confederation, with majorities ranging from 324 to 1167. It was represented continuously by the Hon. John Haggart from 1872 until his death.

**East Middlesex** has also been Conservative since Confederation, although the present constituency was only established in 1903. Since that date East Middlesex was represented continuously by Mr. Peter Elson, up to the time of his death, Mr. Elson's majority being 219 in 1904, 249 in 1908, and 661 in 1911.

South Bruce like East Middlesex was made a constituency at the time of the Redistribution in 1903. It was then separated from the Bruce ridings of that day. In 1904 a Liberal was returned for South Bruce with a majority of 144. In 1908 Mr. J. J. Donnelly, Conservative, was elected by 193 and again in 1911 by 103.

Chateauguay has been one of the most consistent Liberal ridings in the Dominion, and has had only three representatives since Confederation. From 1867 to 1880 it was represented by Mr. Luther Holton, Liberal, from 1880 to 1891 by Mr. Edward Holton, Liberal, and from 1891 until his death a few months ago by the late Mr. J. P. Brown, also a Liberal. In 1908 Mr. Brown received a majority of 305; by the alliance of Nationalists and Conservatives, this was reduced to 40 in the general election of 1911.

On July 14th, 1908 when the revision of the Dominion Elections Act was up for third reading in the Commons, Mr. Borden as Leader of the Opposition, moved an amendment providing that after a certain delay, in case there should be a vacancy in the representation, the Clerk of the Crown in Chancery should have authority to issue the writ himself "so that no constituency should remain unrepresented for a longer period than three months."

No dates have as yet been fixed for the filling of these vacancies. This is but another instance of how far the Rt. Hon. Mr. Borden as Prime Minister is prepared to give effect to policies advocated while Leader of the Opposition.

## Pending By-Elections for House of Commons.

Constituency	By-Election Consequent Upon	Date of	Date fixed for By- Election	Record of Constituency.		
		vacancy		Election of 1911.	Elections of 1908 and 1904.	11.12
South Lanark, Ont	Death of Hon. John Haggart (C)	Mar. 13, 1913	None .	Number of registered electors 5,591   J. G. Haggart (C)	1908 Haggart (C) Majority 1904 Haggart (C) Majority	
South, Bruce, Ont	Appointment to Senate of Mr. J. J. Donnelly (C)	May 26, 1913	None.	Number of registered electors 7,547   1911 J. J. Donnelly (C)2,878   R. E. Truax (L)2,775   Majority (C)103	1908 J. J. Donnelly (C) Maj 1904 P. H. McKenzie (L) Maj.	
Chateauguay, Que	Death of J. P. Brown (L)	May 30, 1913	None.	Number of registered electors 3,414   Jas. P. Brown (L)	1908 J. P. Brown (L). Majority 1904 J. P. Brown (L). Majority	
East Middlesex, Ont	Death of Peter Elson (C)	June 11, 1913	None .		1908 Elson (C) Majority 1904 Elson (C) Majority	