5. Each representative shall receive from the Minister or Chairman of the meeting a certificate of his election, signed by the person presiding at the election; and shall continue in office until his successor is appointed.

6. If a vacancy should occur in the number of representatives, the Minister shall proceed to hold a new election with as little delay as possible, after due notice.

7. Clergymen who have been members of the Synod, but have become superannuated in consequence of age or infirmity, may continue to attend the meetings of the Synod, and vote thereat.

8. The Bishop shall appoint the time and place of meeting, and adjourn, prorogue or dissolve the Synod, as may appear most for the welfare of the Diocese.

9. When the Bishop is not present, he shall appoint his deputy, being a dignitary or senior clergyman of the Diocese, to preside in his place; and upon a vacancy in the See, the senior Archdeacon, or the senior Rural Dean, shall summon a meeting of the clergy and lay representatives, and preside.

10. A quorum of the Synod shall consist of not less than one-fourth of the whole number of both clergy and lay representatives respectively.

11. There shall be two Secretaries, one from the clergy, the other from the laity, who shall keep regular minutes of all proceedings of the Synod, shall record them in a book provided for that purpose, shall preserve all papers, memorials, and other documents, shall attest the public acts of the Synod, and shall deliver all records and documents to their successors.

12. There shall be a Treasurer of the Synod, who shall receive and disburse all moneys collected and paid under its authority; and two Auditors, who shall annually inspect and report on the condition of the accounts.

13. The expenses of the Synod shall be provided for by assessment upon the different parishes, by a Committee appointed for the purpose.

14. No act or resolution of the Synod shall be valid without the concurrence of the Bishop, and of the major-