5th Session, 13th Parliament, 11-12 George V., 1921.

THE SENATE OF CANADA

BILL Y4.

An Act to amend the Northwest Territories Act.

R.S. c. 62; 1907, c. 32; 1908, c. 49; 1913, c. 13. H IS Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows:—

Council increased to six members.

1. Section six of the Northwest Territories Act, Revised Statutes of Canada, 1906, chapter sixty-two, is amended by substituting the word "six" for the word "four" in the second line thereof, and by adding thereto the following subsection:—

Deputy Commissioner may be appointed. "(2) One of the members of the Council may be appointed Deputy Commissioner, and the Deputy Commissioner 10 in the absence of the Commissioner, shall have, and may perform and exercise all the functions and powers conferred upon the Commissioner by this Act."