Tribute to one of Canada's great international marksmen



The Canadian Rifle Team – Bisley 1953 Winners of the Empire Match

(Top row, left to right) Lt.-Col. S. Johnson, Lt.-Col. D.T. Burke, Major A.B. Coulter, Major C.A. Vickery, Major R.W. Hampton. (Bottom row, left to right) S/Sgt. G.B. Kay, Capt. M.M. Morgan, Sgt. W. Kayne, Capt. W.J. Newell, Major A.M.T. Spittal and Sgt. C.C. Wilson.

One of Canada's top sportsmen, Lieutenant-Colonel Desmond T. Burke - doctor, engineer, author and marksman — who probably contributed more than anyone else to his country's stature in international marksmanship, died at Oakville, Ontario, on April 11, at the age of 68.

Dr. Burke was elevated to the Canadian Forces Sports Hall of Fame in 1971 and, in 1972, he was the first rifleman elected to the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame.

He was only 19, in his final year at Ottawa's Lisgar Collegiate, when he won a place on the Canadian rifle team that has competed annually in Bisley, England, since 1871. He won a place on the team 22 times in all, though was able to accept the honour only 12 times. Desmond Burke became, at the age of 20, the youngest King's Prize winner, and was the only person to win the first and final stages of the King's in the same year.

His book, A Practical Rifleman's Guide, illustrated by his own precision drawings, is considered to be invaluable to the marksman. Dr. Burke was a Life Governor of the Dominion of Canada Rifle Association, which was established in 1868.

He spent eight years at Queen's Uni-

versity, Kingston, Ontario, in arts, engineering and medicine; won the Sir Sandford Fleming scholarship in engineering in 1926; and graduated with M.D., C.M. in 1932.

His medical practice was interrupted during the war by five years spent in England and on the European and Italian campaigns with the Canadian Army Medical Corps. On his return to Canada, he was appointed Chief Radiologist to Sunnybrook Hospital, Toronto, and Assistant Professor of Radiology, Toronto University. He retired recently as Chief Radiologist at Oakville Hospital.

His Bisley record includes the winning of: the King's Final Gold medal (1924); King's Runner Up (1927, 1928, 1929); King's Hundred (1924, 1927, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1953); King's Bronze First Stage (1924, 1928); Grand Aggregate Gold Cross (1928, 1932); Grand Aggregate Silver Cross (1931); Grand Aggregate (fourth, first, eighth, fourth, second, first, in consecutive years); Allcomers Aggregate (1931, 1932); Prince of Wales (1929); Clementi Smith (1926); Alexandra (1930); Daily Mail (1953); Southern Railway (1928); Secretary of State (1932); and Wantage (1929). In all he won 14 first and 11 second prizes.

Communal homes donated by Canadians in Vietnam

Two communal homes for the poor will be built in Pleiku with money donated by Canadian members of the International Commission of Control and Supervision (ICCS) in Vietnam.

In accepting the latest donation from Major Jeffrey Kelly of Bobcaygeon, Ontario, Bishop Paul L. Seitz, Bishop of Kontum, said that the centres would house Montagnard tribesmen of all ages within the diocese. Bishop Seitz is a French missionary who has been in Vietnam since 1936.

"The buildings will serve also as a tangible reminder of the Canadians' stay in Pleiku," the Bishop said, "and is another token of the close co-operation that exists between the mission and the Canadians garrisoned in Vietnam."

Major Kelly has been making private donations to the mission since 1968. He is currently at the ICCS headquarters in Saigon.

Heritage Canada launched

Heritage Canada, the first national trust for the preservation for Canada's historic and natural heritage, was inaugurated on April 2 when Jean Chrétien, Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs, announced the names of the founding Board of Governors and handed a \$12-million cheque to Chairman of the Board Hartland MacDougall.

Heritage Canada is now incorporated as a national charitable foundation with founding governors from across Canada.

Joining Mr. MacDougall of Toronto, on the Board of Governors are: Dr. Pierre Dansereau of Montreal, Vice-Chairman, Philip Oland of Saint John, New Brunswick; Mrs. Claude Bertrand of Montreal, Quebec; Pierre Berton and Frederic Rounthwaite of Toronto, Ontario; Etienne Gaboury of Winnipeg, Manitoba; Donald Harvie of Calgary, Alberta; and Dr. George Clutesi of Port Alberni, British Columbia. There are also two Federal Government members: the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister (Conservation) of the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs and the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the National Museums of Canada. Mr. R.A.J. Phillips of Ottawa,