Dr. H. P. Wright, that Drs. McDougall and Bentley, of Ottawa, be elected permanent members. These were elected.

Dr. Caniff moved, seconded by Dr. J. D. Mc-Donald, "That the President's address be the first order of business after recess," which was agreed to.

It was moved by Dr. Stewart, seconded by Dr. Gardner, that Drs. A. Worthington, of Clin ton, and J. Campbell, of Seaforth, be elected permanent members of the Association. Theywere elected.

On the motion of Dr. Marsden, seconded by Dr. McDonald, the By-laws on the order of business were suspended for the present.

Dr. Mullin then reported for the Committee on Fees, &c., "that it is not desirable to insist upon the payment of the annual fee except by those who are present at the meeting," when it was moved by Dr. Bray, seconded by Dr. Harrison, that this report be adopted, which motion was carried unanimously.

On the order of business being resumed, the President called upon the Standing Committees to report.

There was not any report from the Committees on Medicine or Surgery.

Dr. Gardner read an interesting report on Obstetrics.

On the motion of Dr. Grant, seconded by Dr. Powel, Dr Rogers, of Ottawa, was elected a permanent member.

On the motion of Dr. Sweetland, seconded by Dr. H. P. Wright, Drs. Robillard and Malloch, of Ottawa, were duly elected permanent members.

Dr. Lester, of Oswego, Ill., requested permission to attend the meeting, which was granted most cordially.

Dr. Botsford read his report on Sanitary Science, which was discussed by Drs. Brodie Playter, Brush, Workman and Grant.

On motion of Dr. Mostyn, seconded by Dr. Shephord, Dr. O'Brien, of Renfrew, was duly elected a permanent member.

Dr. Osler then read his report on "The Progress of Pathology," when it was moved by Dr. Caniff, seconded by Dr. Sweetland, "That the discussion on the Reports by Drs. Gardner and Osler be taken up to-morrow morning," which was agreed to.

On the motion of Dr. Workman, seconded by

Dr. Botsford, the following gentlemen were named as the "Committee of Nomination":—

Dr. Marsden, Quebec; Dr. Robillard, Quebec; Dr. Osler, Quebec; Dr. Ross, Quebec; Dr. Caniff, Ontario; Dr. McDonald, Ontario; Dr. Hill, Ontario; Dr. Grant, Ontario; Dr. Clark, Ontario; Dr. Botsford, New Brunswick.

The President named Dr. McDonald chairman of the Medical Section, and Dr. Ross as Secretary; Dr. Caniff, Chairman of the Surgical Section, and Dr. McDougall as Secretary.

It being past one o'clock, the meeting adjourned.

AFTERNOON SESSION.

A large number of members being present at 3 P.M.,

It was moved by Dr. Workman, seconded by Dr. Marsden, "That, in the absence of the President, Dr. Botsford take the chair."

This being agreed to, the minutes of the morning's meeting were read and confirmed.

On the motion of Dr. Hingston, seconded by Dr. Grant, Dr. Brunel, of Montreal, was duly elected a permanent member.

Dr. Ewing, of Hawkesbury, was elected a permanent member, on the motion of Dr. Ross, seconded by Dr. Gardner.

The President then read his address.

On the motion of Dr. Marsden, seconded by Dr. McDonald, Dr. C. S. Parke, of Quebec, was elected a permanent member.

On the motion of Dr. Gardner, seconded by Dr. Ross, Dr. J. D. Lafferty, of Pembroke, was elected a permanent member.

Dr. G. H. Preston and Dr. J. G. Beard were elected permanent members, on the motion of Dr. Grant, seconded by Dr. Botsford.

On the motion of Dr. Wright, seconded by Dr. Whiteford, the following gentlemen were duly elected members:—Dr. J. C. Prevost, Montreal; Dr. L. C. Prévost, Ottawa; Dr. F. McEwen, Carleton Place; Dr. Lamarche, Montreal; Dr. J. D. Kellock, Perth, as were Dr. G. H. Graves, of Carp, Ont., on the motion of Dr. Friton, seconded by Dr. Ross; Dr. Bentley, of Richmond, Ont., on motion of Dr. McDougall, seconded by Dr. Whiteford; Dr. Mann, of Renfrew, on motion of Dr. Grant, seconded by Dr. Stewart; and on the motion of Dr. Pickup, seconded by Dr. McDonald, Dr. V. H. Moore, of Brockville.

On motion of Dr. Botsford, seconded by Dr.