The nations adhering to the Rarotonga Treaty are: Australia, New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Papua-New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Western Samoa--all members of the South Pacific Forum. Among the nuclear-weapon states, the USSR and China have given assurances that they will respect the zone and never use nuclear weapons against any of their member states. However, the US, UK and France have not done so.

Verification of the treaty is to be carried out by the IAEA.

one yeshittestel bits aderest bassa histicke state bits

(ii) Governmental Plans Proposed, But Not Implemented.

In addition to the 8 implemented governmental plans outlined above, there has been an even greater number of plans that have been proposed or are under negotiation. In this section, we had problems separating the unilateral, bilateral, and multilateral plans. Unilateral unimplemented governmental proposals do not exist; if a government wants to do something unilaterally, it does so, rather than merely propose. It could, of course, propose that another state do something unilaterally, but this is unusual and we found no instances. The difficulty in attempting to separate the bilateral and multilateral proposals is that the nuclear freeze plans bridge both of these divisions; sometimes suggesting a US-USSR freeze, at other time a freeze by all 5 nuclear-weapon states. The same is true of the Comprehensive Test Ban. The most useful way to divide up these proposals turned out to be to discuss the clearly bilateral ones first; those related to the freeze, or involving nuclear-weapon states only, next; the clearly multilateral ones (other than zones) next; and a final section on nuclear-weapon-free or chemical-weapon-free zones and zones of peace.