Sunday afternoons until the opening of the new church.

Great credit is due to members who came in from other churches to help the new congregation. A new subscription list was gotten up which was largely signed and a great deal of money raised. The lot that the present church stands on was then bought and the building commenced. William Shaw and Hugh Grant were the contractors. The farmers drew in most of the material as well as giving liberally. The walls were all built and the basement completed for the opening or. December 16th, 1867.

Er. Cochrane, of Brantford, was the preacher on that occasion and on the Monday evening following, a tea-meeting was held. The catables were served in paper bags, as the basement was so crowded that there was no room for tables. The auditorium was not furnished until some time later.

Rev. Thomas Goldsmith was chosen to be the pastor and labored in the congregation for nine years. Mr. George Cline was the precentor for about the same time. Mr. Goldsmith's salary was \$1,000 and a manse.

The first elders were D. D. Wilson, Julius Duncan and David McCulloch. Some time after Robert Turnbull, John Cowan and William Dorance were elected members of the session.

In a very short time the basement was too small for the congregation and it was decided to furnish the auditorium, if the money could be raised for the purpose. The difficulty was overcome by Mr. D. D. Wilson going down to the Township of North Dumfries, and borrowing money, some five or six thousand dollars, at six per cent. on a note signed by thirty members of the congregation. The contract for the work on the church was let to Mr. David Duncan. Rev. Dr. Inglis, of liamilton, conducted the services at the opening of the auditorum of the church.

After Mr. Goldsmith left Seaforth for Hamilton, Rev. A. D. McDonald, cf Elora, accepted a call to Seaforth, and was inducted in April, 1879, at a salary of \$1,400 and a free house. The present manss was built for Mr. McDonald about a year after his induction.

After Mr. McDonald came, he entered into negotiations with the Harpurhey congregation to unite with Seaforth. Mr. Barr was to receive a yearly allowance of \$180 until his death. The Harpurhey elders and neonle were received in a body. The elders were Rev. M. Barr, James Scott, William Wilson, Sr., Simon Young and David Campbell. In that same year a number of new elders were elected: Roderick Gray, William Sproat, Hugh Robb, S. G. McCaughey, L. L. McFaul, M. Y. McLean and William Ballantyne. A short time after, on account of removals and death, George Duncan, J. C. Smith, James Cowan and John M. Wilson were added to the Session. Of all these members only George Duncan, James Cowan, John M. Wilson, D. D. Wilson and William Ballantyne are now living..

In 1881, after much discussion it was resolved to raise the money