being represented by one member, T. W. Davis. The North-West Council was abolished and the Legislative Assembly established in the same year. This Assembly must not be confused with the body of that name now existing in Alberta or Saskatchewan or in the Eastern Provinces. The Lieutenam Governor was president of the Council; there was no Executive Council whose advice he was bound to take; there was merely an Executive Committee, which had no power to control the Assembly in regard to dissolution or elections respecting that body. In 1897 constitutional changes were enacted by the Federal Government which in the message of the Lieutenamt Governor in opening the session that year gave "a completely responsible system of government." For the first time a live Executive Council was chosen and departments created for the better administration of public affairs.

The successful issue of the struggle for responsible government has but one goal in Canada. It has by some mystery of our system and genins of our statesmen always led to union and co-operation. It was so in the North-West Territories. In the closing years of the 19th century—almost a century after the Constitutional Act—the struggle for responsible government had been won in the terms of Lincoln's immortal epitome of democracy: "Government of the people, by the people, for the people."

The next step in the evolution of the North-West Territories was provincial autonomy, which was granted by the Parliament of Canada in 1905. The territory was divided into two provinces and the Government provided for each by the Alberta and Saskatchewan Acts respectively.

It should be noted here that an Imperial Order in Council was not necessary to ratify the agreement between the Governments of Canada and the Territories as in the case of British Columbia and Prince Edward Island for the reason that Canada owned the territories by virtue of the purchase thereof from the Hudson's Bay Company in 1870.

This brings us to a consideration of a special feature of the terms of the admission of the three prairie provinces into confederationthe ownership of the lands in each. By Section 109 of the British North America Act the ownership of public lands was vested in the provinces. A different policy was followed with respect to Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. It was held by the Federal government at the time of the union of Manitoba that the Government of Canada was in duty bound to administer the lands of the North-West, purchased by the money of Canada, for the benefit of the whole Dominion, and if they were transferred to the province the federal government would be surrendering a trusteeship imposed upon it by the terms of purchase from the Hudson's Bay Company. The purchase of Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory had been consummated for the national purposes to be executed by building a railway across the continent, formulating an immigration policy with the land of the North-West as an attraction and of equitably extinguishing the title of the native half-breeds and Indians to the public domain. Such