holiday?

We have been sitting here for a couple of weeks now. The Minister of Finance gave the press the wording of the legislation prior to the House coming back. Why has that legislation not been introduced in the House? Why has it not been put through the House by this time? Why has it not been done prior to the Senate taking another

Mr. Cooper: Mr. Speaker, I would like to thank the hon. member for raising a very important issue, a question that of course is near and dear to my own heart.

If this is a representation from him and an indication that we would have a quick and speedy passage of that legislation through the House, I would be more than happy to bring that to the attention of the Minister of Finance.

Perhaps we could make a very quick decision in the House and look after those people in northern and isolated communities.

Mr. Murphy: On the same point and just to reassure the parliamentary secretary, we made that obvious to the Minister of Finance weeks ago and we made it obvious in the House last week. I would suggest that it is the government that is stalling on its own legislation.

Mr. Cooper: Mr. Speaker, I want to thank the hon. member for his confirmation of rapid and speedy delivery of this legislation. I will have a discussion with the Minister of Finance and will bring that information back to the House as quickly as possible.

GOVERNMENT ORDERS

[English]

BORROWING AUTHORITY ACT, 1991–92

MEASURE TO ENACT

The House resumed from Wednesday, March, 6, consideration of the motion of Mr. Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) that Bill C-97, an act to provide borrowing authority, be read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Finance.

Mr. Speaker: It being three o'clock p.m., pursuant to orders made Tuesday, March 5, and Wednesday, March

Government Orders

6, 1991, the House will now proceed to the taking of the deferred division on the motion at second reading stage of Bill C-97, an act to provide borrowing authority.

Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 392)

YEAS

Members

Anderson Andre Atkinson Attewell Belsher Beatty Bernier Blackburn (Jonquière) Bosley Blais Bouchard (Roberval) Bourgault Boyer Browes Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Cadieux Cardiff Casey Champagne (Champlain) Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clifford Collins Cooper Cook Corbeil Corbett Couture Crosby (Halifax West) Côté Crosbie (St. John's West) Darling Della Noce DeBlois Desjardins Domm Duplessis Edwards Epp Feltham Ferland Fontaine Fretz Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Guilbault Gustafson Halliday Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hawkes Holtmann Hogue Hudon Hughes Jelinek James Johnson Joncas Jourdenais Kempling Koury Langlois Layton Larrivée Littlechild Loiselle MacDonald (Rosedale) Lopez MacDougall (Timiskaming) Malone Martin (Lincoln) Mayer McCreath Masse Mazankowski McDermid McLean Moore Mulroney Nicholson Oberle Plourde Porter Ricard Roy-Arcelin Saint-Julien Schneider Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Siddon Sobeski Soetens Sparrow Tardif Tétreault Thorkelson Turner (Halton-Peel) Van De Walle Tremblay (Québec-Est) Valcourt Vankoughnet

Venne

Wilbee

Winegard-114