Ordered, That the same do lie on the Table.

Then the Honourable Mr. Primrose presented the Petition of John Hamilton Ewart, of the City of Toronto; praying for the passing of an Act granting him a Divorce from his wife, Mary Elizabeth Ewart.

Ordered. That the same do lie on the Table.

Pursuant to the Order of the Day, the following Petitions were severally read :-

Of the Corporation of the Village of Merritton, of the Corporation of the City of Belleville, and of the Corporation of the Village of Norwood; all severally praying for the passing of such legislation as will prevent the Bell Telephone Company of Canada from increasing their rates as they existed in 1892, and requiring them to supply telephones to persons willing to pay for them whose premises are adjacent to their main lines or branches of their system.

The Honourable Mr. Scott, from the Committee of Selection appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, presented their Report.

Ordered, That it be received, and

The same was then read by the Clerk, and it is as follows :-

THE SENATE,

COMMITTEE ROOM No. 2, FRIDAY, 21st February, 1902.

The Committee of Selection, appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, have the honour to report herewith the following lists of Senators selected by them to serve on each of the said Standing Committees, namely:—

The Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament :-

The Honourable the Speaker, and the Honourable Messieurs:—Baker, Beique, Boucherville, de, C.M.G., Casgrain (de Lanaudière), Drummond, Gowan, C.M.G., Hingston, Sir Wm., Kt., Landerkin, Masson, Miller, Pelletier, Sir Alphonse, K.C.M.G., Poirier, Scott, Thibaudeau (Rigaud), Wood (Westmoreland), Young.—17.

The Joint Committee on the Printing of Parliament :—

The Honourable Messieurs:—Bernier, Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Cochrane, Dever, Dobson, Ellis, Ferguson, Fiset, Gibson, King, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Mackay (Alma), MacKeen, Merner, O'Donohoe, Pelletier, Sir Alphonse, K.C.M.G., Primrose, Reid, Shehyn, Templeman, Watson.—21.

The Committee on Standing Orders :-

The Honourable Messieurs:—Beique, Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Clemow, Gillmor, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Macdonald (Victoria), McKay (Truro), Yeo, Young.—9.

The Committee on Banking and Commerce :-

The Honourable Messieurs:—Aikins, Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., Casgrain (Windsor), Clemow, Cox, Dandurand, Drummond, Ferguson, Forget, Fulford, Hingston, Sir Wm., Kt., Jones, Kerr, Lougheed, Mackay (Alma), McDonald (C.B.), McCallum, McMillan, McSweeney, Miller, O'Brien, Perley, Primrose, Thibaudeau (de la Vallière), Thompson, Shehyn, Wark, Wood (Westmoreland), Wood (Hamilton), Yeo.—30.