### Ways and Means

The House divided on the motion which was agreed to on the following division:

# (Division No. 25)

### YEAS

#### Members

Anderson Atkinson Attewell Beatty Belsher Bernier Bertrand Bird Blackburn (Jonquière) Biornson Blais Blenkarn Bouchard (Roberval) Bouchard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Bover Brightwell Browe Cadieux Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Cardiff Champagne (Champlain) Casey Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clifford Cole Collins Cook Corbeil Corbett Couture Crosby (Halifax West) DeBlois de Cotret Della Noce Desjardins Dobbie Domm Dorin Duplessis Edwards Fee Fontaine Fretz Friesen Gérin Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Greene Guilbault Gustafson Halliday Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hawkes Hogue Holtmann Horner Horning Hudon Hughes Johnson Joncas Jourdenais Kempling Koury Langlois Larrivée Layton Leblanc (Longueuil) Lewis Littlechild Loiselle MacDonald (Rosedale) MacKay Marin Martin (Lincoln) Mayer Mazankowski McDermid McDougall (St. Paul's) McKnight Merrithey Mitges Monteith Nicholson Nowlan Plourde Porter Pronovost Reid Reimer Ricard Richardson Robitaille Rov-Arcelin St-Julien Schneider

Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Siddon Sobeski Soetens Sparrow Stevenson Tardif Tétreault Thacker Thorkelson Thompson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Tremblay (Lotbinière) Van de Walle Turner (Halton-Peel) Venne Vézina Vien Vincent Weiner White Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Assiniboia) Worthy-121 Winegard

# NAYS

Members

Althouse Arseneault Barrett Bellemare Bevilacqua Blondin Brewin Caccia

Caccia
Campbell (South West Nova)
Clancy
Copps
de Jong
Duhamel
Finestone
Flis
Fulton
Gagliano
Gauthier
Grey (Beaver River)
Harb

Harb Harvey (Edmonton East) Hunter Kaplan Kilger (Stormont – Dundas)

Kilger (Stormont – Dundas) Langdon (Essex – Windsor) Laporte

Lee MacDonald (Dartmouth)
MacLellan
Maheu
Marleau
McGuire
Mitchell
Nystrom

Nystrom
Parker
Phinney
Rideout
Robichaud
Simmons
Stupich
Tobin
Volpe
Whittaker

Whittaker Young (Beaches — Woodbine)—87 Angus Assad Bélair

Belair
Benjamin
Black
Boudria
Butland
Callbeck
Catterall
Comuzzi
Crawford
Dingwall
Ferguson
Fisher
Foster
Gaffney
Gardiner
Gray (Windsor West)

Guarnieri Harvard Hovdebo Jordan Karpoff

Langan (Mission—Coquitlam)

LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands—Canso)

MacAulay
MacLaren
MacWilliam
Manley
McCurdy
Mills
Nault
Ouellet
Peterson
Prud'homme
Riis
Rompkey
Stewart
Taylor
Vanclief
Wappel
Wood

• (1640)

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Jim Hawkes (Calgary West): Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. We have many new Members in the Chamber and we have not had all that many votes. There is a rule that Members should not vote if they arrive in the Chamber late. I think there were a couple, one from each side of the House. I do not want to draw attention to the specific cases but I thought it was a perfect opportunity to remind Hon. Members that they should be seated and present before voting commences. Some day it might be important.

Mr. Ken James (Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of Labour): Mr. Speaker, I was in a meeting that took longer than expected. I had to remain. I did not vote because I came in after everyone was seated. I did want