Division

the Prime Minister and General Gowon. We would not be able to safeguard the confidence which underlies our relations if communications of a confidential nature were made public. In view of this, I wonder if the hon. member would consent to withdraw his motion, with the consent of the House.

Drury Dubé Émard Forest Forget Gilles Gilles

Mr. Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre): Question.

The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Béchard): Is the House ready for the question?

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Nystrom) which was negatived on the following division.

YEAS

Messrs:

Alexander MacInnis (Mrs.) MacLean Baldwin Barnett MacRae Bell McCleave Benjamin McCutcheon McGrath Bigg Burton McIntosh Cadieu (Meadow Lake) McKinley Crouse Mazankowski Danforth Moore Muir (Cape Breton-Diefenbaker Dinsdale The Sydneys) Muir (Lisgar) Dionne Downey Neshitt Dumont Nowlan Fairweather Nystrom Forrestall Orlikow Paproski Fortin Gilbert Peddle Godin Peters Harding Ricard Ritchie Horner Howard (Skeena) Rondeau Howe Rose Knowles (Winnipeg Saltsman North Centre) Schumacher Knowles (Norfolk-Simpson Haldimand) Skoberg Lambert (Edmonton Southam West) Stanfield Latulippe Tétrault Thomson (Battleford-

Latulippe Lewis Lundrigan MacEwan

MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond)

NAYS

Kindersley)

Valade

Winch-65.

Messrs:

Allmand Chrétien Anderson Clermont Andras Cobbe Comtois Badanai Basford Corbin Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil) Béchard Benson Crossman Blair Cullen Blouin Breau Cyr Buchanan Deachman Caccia Deakon Chappell Douglas (Assiniboia)

[Mr. Forest.]

Dubé Émard Forest. Forget Francis Gervais Gillespie Givens Goode Gray Groos Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Hogarth Honey Hopkins Howard (Okanagan

Boundary)
Hymmen
Isabelle
Jerome
Kaplan
Lachance
Lang (SaskatoonHumboldt)
Langlois
Laniel
Leblanc (Laurier)

Lefebvre
Legault
Lessard (LaSalle)
Lessard
(Lac-Saint-Jean)
Loiselle
MacGuigan

Mackasey McIlraith McNulty Mahoney Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Mongrain Morison Munro Noël O'Connell Osler Otto Penner Pepin Pilon Portelance Pringle Prud'homme Reid Roberts Rochon Rock Roy (Timmins)

Roy (Laval)
Ryan
Serré
Smerchanski
Smith (Saint-Jean)
Stafford
Stanbury
Stewart (Cochrane)
Stewart (OkanaganKootenay)
St. Pierre
Sullivan

Thomas (Maisonneuve)
Trudeau

Trudel
Turner (London East)
Wahn
Walker
Watson
Weatherhead
Whelan
Whicher
Whiting

Yanakis-109.

• (5:30 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

Mr. Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre): Mr. Speaker, possibly the House would prefer that we call it six o'clock.

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. Apparently there is no agreement that we call it six o'clock.

Mr. Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre): Mr. Speaker, I made the request because I thought there was agreement.

Mr. Benson: There is agreement.

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. I understand there has been a change of heart and that there is now agreement.

At 5.33 p.m. the House took recess.