The Secretary of State for External

Affairs, the Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, announced
today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to HABITAT, the

United Nations Conference on Human Settlements. HABITAT will be
held in Vancouver from May 31 to June 11. The Canadian HABITAT

Delegation has 70 members, including the following elected officials:
five federal ministers, ten provincial ministers, three federal

Members of Parliament and nine Mayors.

The balance of the delegation will consist of federal, provincial and municipal advisers and representatives of Canadian non-governmental organizations.

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, Allan J. MacEachen, and the Minister of State for Urban Affairs, Barney Danson, will be co-chairmen of the delegation. Justice Minister Ron Basford will be first vice-chairman.

Dr. Victor Goldbloom, Quebec Minister of Municipal Affairs and of the Environment, will be second vice-chairman. Dr. Goldbloom made the original proposal on behalf of Canada at the 1972 Stockholm Conference on the Environment to host a U.N. settlements conference.

Environment Minister Jean Marchand and Communications Minister Jeanne Sauvé will complete the federal Cabinet contingent on the delegation.

. . . 2