These changes cause a temporary

Canadians apply in massive numbers for

collapse in passport service as

new passports.

- 1968: Cabinet confirms a decision to "open branch passport offices in cities where major air terminals are located for scheduled overseas flights beginning with Vancouver, Montréal and Toronto."
- 1969: The following changes in passport requirements become effective April 1st:
  - all applicants must support their claim to Canadian citizenship by documentary evidence;
  - passports are no longer renewable, and validity is limited to five years;
  - passport services are to be decentralized;
  - the Passport Office is made self-supporting, with operations paid for through fees charged for services rendered; and
  - the passport fee increases from \$5 to \$10.
- 1970: Offices open in Montréal, Toronto and Vancouver.
- 1972: Offices open in Halifax and Edmonton.
- 1973: Office opens in Winnipeg.
- 1974: Satellite office opens in North York.
- **1976:** Fee increases from \$10 to \$12.
- 1979: Offices open in Saskatoon, St. John's, Hamilton, Calgary and Québec.
- **1980:** Fee increases from \$12 to \$20.
- 1981: Offices open in Windsor, London, Fredericton and Victoria.
- 1982:A toll-free telephone service is implemented.Fee increases from \$20 to \$21.

Head office moves from Ottawa to Hull.

- 1985: Machine-readable passports are introduced in Canada.
- **1986:** Automated writing systems are installed in Atlanta, New York, London and Los Angeles. All Canadian missions issue machine-readable format passports.
- 1987: Offices open in Saint-Laurent and Scarborough.Automated writing systems are installed in Rome, Paris and Bonn.
- 1988: Fee increases from \$21 to \$25 effective January 1st.
  Automated writing system is installed in Detroit.
  Ottawa Public Counter becomes an issuing office.
  Offices open in Jonquière, Regina and Thunder Bay.
- 1989: Automated writing systems are installed in San Francisco and Hong Kong.
- 1990: North York satellite office becomes an issuing office.
   The Passport Office becomes a Special Operating Agency.
   Regional offices are reorganized into three reporting units: Eastern, Ontario and Western Operations.
   The Passport Office becomes part of the Consular, Immigration and Passport Affairs Branch.