Fourth, it vested the formal executive power in the Queen, and created the Queen's Privy Council for Canada (the legal basis for the federal Cabinet).

Fifth, it gave Parliament power to set up a Supreme Court of Canada (which it did, in 1875).

Sixth, it guaranteed certain limited rights equally to the English and French languages in the federal Parliament and courts and in the legislatures and courts of Quebec and Manitoba.

Seventh, it guaranteed separate schools for the Protestant and Roman Catholic minorities in Quebec and Ontario. It also guaranteed separate schools in any other province where they existed by law in 1867, or were set up by any provincial law after 1867. There were special provisions for Manitoba (created in 1870), which proved ineffective; more limited guarantees for Alberta and Saskatchewan (created in 1905); and for Newfoundland (which came into Confederation in 1949) a guarantee of separate schools for a variety of Christian denominations.

Eighth, it guaranteed Quebec's distinctive civil law.

Ninth, it gave Parliament power to assume the jurisdiction over property and civil rights, or any part of such jurisdiction, in the other provinces, provided the provincial legislatures consented. This power has never been used.

Tenth, it prohibited provincial tariffs.

Eleventh, it gave the provincial legislatures the power to amend the provincial constitutions, except as regards the office of lieutenant-governor.

Twelfth, it gave the national government (the governor general-in-council, that is, the federal Cabinet) certain controls over the provinces: appointment, instruction and dismissal of lieutenant-governors (two have been dismissed); disallowance of provincial acts within one year after their passing (112 have been disallowed — the last in 1943 — from every province except Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland); power of lieutenant-governors to send provincial bills to Ottawa, unassented to (in which case they do not go into effect unless the central executive assents within one year; of 70 such bills, the last in 1961, from every province but Newfoundland, only 14 have gone into effect).