and later out of or about these the counties were constructed. Nova Scotia also recognized other units such as "Divisions" and "Districts." Prince Edward Island was divided into "Counties," "Parishes," "Lots," and three towns with royalties and commons attached.1

Nova Scotia.—The "Division" in Nova Scotia was merely a circuit for the Court of Common Pleas reconstructed in 1824. The province, excluding Halifax and Cape Breton, was divided into three divisions.

In 1749 there was but one county. When the question of representation in the Assembly came up, the township as well as the county was considered worthy of representation.2 In 1833 Murdoch wrote: "Some of the counties are divided into Districts to facilitate the local husiness of the county, giving each district a set of public officers nearly equivalent to those of a separate county," e.g., a court of general sessions of the peace.8 "In Halifax county there are three districts-Halifax proper, Colchester, Pictou, each of which has every arrangement for the administration of justice, the registry of deeds, etc., as if it were a separate county wanting only the name and a county representative in the Assembly." "Each district," says Haliburton, "is or should be furnished with a court house, but the jail helongs to the county. The sheriff's authority is commensurate with the county and the commissions of the peace extend throughout the same. The localities of the juries both in real and personal have also a reference to the county; and the election of representatives is in no way affected by this local arrangement of districts."5

The term "Settl ment" was used with few exceptions in eastern Nova Scotia in place of "Township," the common term in the western part. The term "Electoral District" was adopted in t847 to denote what is 1000 called a "Polling Section." The Electoral Division" to day is the constituency which is represented in Parliament. For much valuable information about these and other matters, I am greatly indebted to Mr. A. A. McKay, of Halifax.

² In 1759 representation was granted to five countres—Halifax, Lunenburg, Annapolis, Kings and Cumberland, and to five towns or townships Halifax. Lunenburg, Annapolis, Horton and Cumberland. Representation was granted to the countres of Queens in 1762, Sunbury 1767, H nts 1781, Shelburne 1784, Sydney 1784 (renamed Antigonish 1863), Cape Breton 1820, Yarmouth 1836, Digby 1837, Pictou 1836 and

⁵ Haliburton, ob. cit., II. 8.

⁴ Murdoch, Epitome of N.S. Laws, Vol. III.

⁵ When Haliburton wrote, in 1829, Halifax was divided into three districts; Sydney (now Antigonish) into Sydney and Guysborough; Annapolis into Annapolis