## FIRST ANNUAL MEETING.

The First Annual Meeting of the Governors and Subscribers to the Montreal Protestant House of Industry and Refuge was held in the Hall of the Mechanics' Institute on Wednesday, 20th April, 1864.

JOHN REDPATH, Esq., President of the Institution, in the Chair.

The CHAIRMAN having explained the objects of the meeting, called upon Mr. Lunn, the Honorary Secretary, to read the Reports of the Board of Management and of the Finance Com mittee, and upon Mr. GREENSHIELDS to read the Report of the Committee for the Relief of the Poor.

These Reports having been read, it was moved by Mr. R. HOLLAND, seconded by Mr. B. DAWSON, and carried:

"That the Report now read be received and adopted and printed for the information of the Subscribers and the public."

It was agreed that the Charter and the list of Subscribers be also printed along with the Report.

The Merting then proceeded to the election of twenty-four Elective Governors to serve for one year in place of these who retire.

The CHAIRMAN having named Mr. JAMES LAW and Mr. ROBERT ESDAILE to act as scrutineers of the Ballots, these gentlemen reported that the following twenty-four Elective Governors of last year had been re-elected for the ensuing year:

GEORGE BRUSH, N. B. Corse, JOHN DOUGALL, B. HUTCHINS, ALFRED SAVACE, RICHARD HOLLAND, J. McMILLAN,

HENRY BULMER, MILES WILLIAMS, Senr G. W. CAMPBELL, M.D. JAMES COURT, ANDREW WILSON, Hon. JOHN ROSE, DAVID BROWN,

WM. CLENDINNING, M. H. GAULT, G. MOFFATT, Junr., A. MILLOY, H. MULHOLLAND, JAMES HUTTON.

D. A. P. WATT, ERNEST IDLER, ALEX. RAMSAY, WM. LUNN.

Th Prot

T Gov first orga tees

men

Fine

port

sons

any

will

clud

Dire

but

ed 1

his

exe

first

bee

\$3,

iter

pal

ma

the

of

tha

pu

Ins

lov

Bur

of

ma

ed.

bu

T

T

anbn nual

The following gentlemen were then unanimously re-elected office-bearers for the next

President-John Redpath. First Vice-President-WM. MURRAY. Second Vice-President-WM. WORKMAN. Treasurer-WM. MOLSON.

Honorary Secretary-WM. LUNN. Honorary Solicitors-Messrs. Rose & RITCHIE. Honorary Notaries-Messrs. GIBB & HUNTER.

A vote of thanks was moved to the Managers of the Mechanics Institute for the free use of their Hall, which motion, like all the others, was carried by acclamation.

## BOARD OF MANAGEMENT, 1864-65.

WILLIAM MURRAY, WILLIAM MOLSON, JOHN REDPATH, WILLIAM WORKMAN, CHAS. ALEXANDER, WM. EDMCNSTONE, JAMES P. CLARK, THOS. M. THOMSON, JOHN CAVERHILL, JNO. GREENSHIELDS, J. L. MATHEWSON, W. F. KAY,

EDWD. MAITLAND, T. M. BRYSON, JOHN SINCLAIR,

M. H. GAULT, HENRY LYMAN, \* W. H. A. DAVIES, WILLIAM LUNN, GEORGE HAGAR, H. L. ROUTH, \* DAVID BROWN, J. C. BECKET, ANDREW WILSON, H. A. NELSON, HUGH MATHEWSON, JAS. FERRIER, Junr., HENRY BULMER, Hon. GRO. Me. PART. G. H. FROTHINGHAM.

Secretary to Board of Management-WM. BROWN.