been first recommended to the House by a message for the Governor General, that is, a royal recommendation.

Mr. Allmand: Mr. Speaker, on the same point of order. I think that I should have had the opportunity in the first place to move the first reading of the bill as you called it on the Order Paper.

I would so move first reading of Senate Public Bill S-12.

In response to the minister's statement, if you wish to hear argument, there is considerable argument that the Senate, as the House of Lords in England, can introduce such bills. They were in fact introduced under previous Conservative governments under the government of the right hon. member for Yellowhead. The hon. Senator Flynn introduced a similar type of bill and in the 1920s when the Meighen government was in power similar bills were introduced.

We put to the House Bill S-12 as sent to this House by the Senate which will extend the variable entrance requirements for unemployment insurance in high unemployment regions.

Mr. Speaker: The hon. member for Notre-Dame-de-Grace has made a point of order. I shall proceed with that, of course. The Speaker is in a position where I recognized the Minister of Justice who made a statement, not an argument.

I now must put the motion by the member for Notre-Dame-de-Grace to the House.

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ACT

MEASURE TO AMEND

Hon. Warren Allmand (Notre-Dame-de-Grâce) moved that Bill S-12, to amend the Unemployment Insurance Act, be read the first time.

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Routine Proceedings

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion, the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 166)

YEAS

Members

Anawak
Assad
Crossing) Axworthy (Winnipeg South Centre
Bélair
Berger
Black
Boudria
Campbell (South West Nova)
Clancy
de Jong
Ferguson
Fisher
Fontana
Fulton
Gagliano
Gray (Windsor West)
Harb
Harvey (Edmonton East)
Hopkins
Hunter
Kaplan
Kilger (Stormont-Dundas)
Langan (Mission-Coquitlam)
Laporte
ds—Canso) Lee
MacLaren
Manley
Martin (Lasalle-Émard)
Mifflin
Murphy
Nystrom
Parker
Phinney
Prud'homme
Riis
Rodriguez
Simmons
Speller
Stupich
Tobin
Volpe
Wappel
Wappel Wood

NAYS

Members

	Wembers
Anderson	Andre
Atkinson	Attewell
Beatty	Belsher
Bernier	Bird
Bjornson	Blackburn (Jonquière)
Blenkarn	Bouchard (Roberval)
Bourgault	Boyer
Brightwell	Browes
Cadieux	Campbell (Vancouver Centre
Cardiff	Casey
Chadwick	Champagne (Champlain)
Chartrand	Clark (Yellowhead)
Clark (Brandon-Souris)	Clifford