An Advisory Medical Committee was also formed, to whom we could refer in matters of a professional character. This Committee consisted of:

Dr. Roddick, President of British Medical Association for 1897.
Dr. J. Stewart Dr. Lachapelle Dr. Powell,
Dr. Craik Sir James Grant Dr. Sweetland
Sir W. Hingston Dr. Wright Dr. Thorburn.

Local committees, too, of a very representative character, did yeoman service, both in collecting subscriptions under adverse circumstances, and in popularizing and in spreading the right information regarding the aims of the Order. In this way funds were gathered at Montreal under the chairmanship of Dr. Craik; at Toronto under Dr. Thorburn; at Ottawa under Sir Sandford Fleming; at Halifax under the Rev. Dr. Black; at Vancouver under the Rev. E. McLaren; at Hamilton under Senator Sanford; at Kingston under the Rev. Principal Grant, and at St. John under the Mayor.

We owe many acknowledgments to the members of all these committees, and trust the day will come when they will be proud of having acted as pioneers in this work.

The Trustees appointed for the Fund were Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Senator Drummond, Senator Cox and Sir Sandford Fleming.

OBJECTS OF THE FUND.

The object of the Fund was to collect a sufficient sum of money for the permanent endowment of the