Madam Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Lalonde) which was agreed to on the following division:

• (1600)

(Division No. 163)

YEAS

Messrs.

Allmand	Duquet	LeBlanc
Axworthy	Erola (Mrs.)	Leduc
Bachand	Ethier	Lefebvre
Beauchamp-Niquet	Evans	Loiselle
(Mrs.)	Ferguson	Lumley
Bégin (Miss)	Fisher	MacBain
Berger	Fleming	MacEachen
Blais	Flis	Mackasey
Blaker	Foster	MacLaren
Bloomfield	Fox	MacLellan
Bockstael	Francis	Marceau
Bossy	Frith	Massé
Buiold	Garant	Masters
Burghardt	Gauthier	McCauley
Caccia	Gendron	McRae
Campbell	Gimaïel	Munro
(Miss)	Gingras	(Hamilton East)
(South West Nova)	Gourd	Nicholson
Campbell	(Argenteuil-Papineau)	(Miss)
(Cardigan)	Gourde	Olivier
Chénier	(Lévis)	Ostiguy
Comtois	Gray	Quellet
Corbin	Guilbault	Penner
Corriveau	Harquail	Pepin
Cosgrove	Henderson	Peterson
Côté (Mrs.)	Herbert	Pinard
Cullen	Hervieux-Payette	Portelance
Cyr	(Mrs.)	Prud'homme
Dawson	Hopkins	Reid
de Corneille	Irwin	(Kenora-Rainy River)
Demers	Johnston	Roberts
Deniger	Joyal	Robinson
Dingwall	Kaplan	(Etobicoke-Lakeshore)
Dion	Kelly	Rossi
Dionne	Killens (Mrs.)	Roy
(Chicoutimi)	Lachance	Savard
Dionne	Lalonde	Schroder
(Northumberland-	Lamontagne	Smith
Miramichi)	Landers	Tardif
Dubois	Lang	Tousignant
Duclos	Lapointe	Turner
Dupont	(Charlevoix)	Watson
Dupras	Lapointe	Weatherhead
	(Beauce)	Whelan—115.

NAYS

Messrs.

Althouse	Carney (Miss)
Andre	Clark
Anguish	(Yellowhead)
Baker	Clarke
(Nepean-Carleton)	(Vancouver Quadra)
Beatty	Cook
Benjamin	Cooper
Blackburn	Corbett
Blenkarn	Crombie
Bosley	Crosby
Bradley	(Halifax West)
Broadbent	Darling

Deans Domm Elzinga Epp Fennell Forrestall Fretz Fulton Gamble Gass Gilchrist Greenaway

Petro-Canada Act

Messrs.

Gurbin	Lewycky	Parker
Halliday	MacKay	Reid
Hamilton	Manly	(St. Catharines)
(Qu'Appelle-Moose	Mayer	Robinson
Mountain)	Mazankowski	(Burnaby)
Hargrave	McCain	Rose
Hawkes	McCuish	Sargeant
Hnatyshyn	McKinnon	Scott
Howie	McMillan	(Hamilton-Wentworth)
Huntington	Miller	Scott
Jarvis	Mitges	(Victoria-Haliburton)
Jelinek	Munro	Stevens
Keeper	(Esquimalt-Saanich)	Taylor
Kempling	Murta	Thacker
King	Neil	Thomson
Kristiansen	Nickerson	Towers
Kushner	Nielsen	Waddell
Lambert	Oberle	Wilson
La Salle	Orlikow	Wise
Lewis	Paproski	Wright
		Young—86.

• (1620)

[Translation]

Madam Speaker: I declare the motion carried. Motion agreed to.

[English]

PETRO-CANADA ACT

MEASURE TO AMEND

Hon. Marc Lalonde (Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources) moved that Bill C-101, to amend the Petro-Canada Act, be read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Energy Legislation.

He said: Mr. Speaker, I am pleased to have this opportunity to introduce for second reading Bill C-101, to amend the Petro-Canada Act, which is an important legislative element of the Government of Canada's National Energy Program. As hon. members may know, these amendments were originally included in Bill C-94, the energy security bill. The Tories' strike-with-pay against Parliament was an avoidable and most regrettable incident. Time which could have been spent debating in Parliament our proposals for energy security was lost, for nothing as it turns out, since the government had said all along that it was ready to split Bill C-94 if there was an agreement to treat all its elements with some dispatch.

Again today, Mr. Speaker, we saw more abuse of Parliament as the Tories were trying to turn the House into a circus. All those members who presented a petition today were the same members who, in 1977, passed unanimously the statute law amendment to the Metric Conversion Act.

Mr. Kempling: Wrong!

• (1630)

Mr. Lalonde: This is the type of hyprocrisy-

Mr. Kempling: You are the biggest hypocrite of all.

Mr. Lalonde: —that we are facing from the Conservative party, which had been hijacking Parliament a few weeks ago