UNITED NATIONS REGIONAL GROUPINGS*

PERMANENT MEMBERS OF THE SECURITY COUNCIL

China France United Kingdom USA

USSR

WESTERN EUROPE AND OTHERS** 23

Australia Austria Belgium Canada Denmark Finland Germany, Federal Republic of

(0

Greece Iceland Ireland Italy Luxembourg Malta Netherlands

New Zealand Norway Portugal Spain Sweden Turkey

EASTERN EUROPE

Albania	German Democratic Republic	Ukrainian SSR
Bulgaria	Hungary	Yugoslavia
Byelorussian SSR	Poland	analogt Dag
Czechoslovakia	Romania	

AFRICA AND ASIA

Gambia

AFRICA 50

Algeria	Ghana	Sao Tomé and Principe
Angola	Guinea	Senegal
Benin	Guinea-Bissau	Seychelles
Botswana	Ivory Coast	Sierra Leone
Burundi	Kenya	Somal'ia
Cameroon	Lesotho	South Africa
Cape Verde	Liberia	Sudan
Central African	Libya	Swaziland
Empire	Madagascar	Tanzania
Chad	Malawi	Togo
Comoros	Mali	Tunisia
Congo	Mauritania	Uganda
Djibouti	Mauritius	Upper Volta
Egypt	Morocco	Zaire
Equatorial Guinea	Mozambique	Zambia
Ethiopia	Niger	
Gabon	Nigeria	

* These groups are unofficial and have been established to take account of the purposes of resolutions 1990 and 1991 of the 18th session of the General Assembly.

Rwanda

** France and the UK are members of WEOG but the United States does not participate. In regional meetings of various committees, particularly the Second and Fifth Committee, both the USA and Japan attend WEOG meetings. For electoral purposes to subsidiary bodies (mostly economic and social) observers are considered part of WEOG and occupy seats so allocated.