で山地市 戸上の社のつき

N° 11. Proclamation of Sir Alured Clarke, dated 7th May 1792.

Lawrence and Ottowa, between the easterly side of the aforesaid county of York and a called the seigniory of Terebonne, together with the island of Jeans, and all the other islands in the said rivers St. Lawrenes and Ottown, but the whole or in part fronting the said country, except the aforesaid island of Montreal; and that the fifteenth of the said countries, to be called Lenster, shall comprehent all that part of our said province on the northerly side of the said rivers St. Lawrence and Ottown, between the easterly side of the said county of Effingham and a line running north-west from the south-easterly angle of a tract of land commonly called the seigniory of St. Sulpice, together with all the islands in the said rivers St. Lawrence and Ottown nearest to the said county, and in whole or in part fronting the same; and that the sixteenth of the said counties, to be called Warwick, shall comprehend all that part of our said province on the northerly side the river St. Lawrence, between the easterly side of the said county of Leinster and a line parallel thereto running from the south-easterly angle of a tract of land commonly called the seigniory of Berthier, together with all the islands in the said river St. Lawrence mearest to the said county, and in the whole or in part fronting the same; and that the seventeenth of the said counties, to be called St. Manrice, shall comprehend all that part of our said province on the northerly side of the river St. Lawrence, between the easterly side of the said county of Warwick and a line parallel thereto running from the south-easterly engle of a tract of fund commonly called the seignfory of Ballsean, together with all the is do in the said river St. Lawrence nearest to the said county, and in the whole or in part crating the same, including within the said county the tract of land comprehended within the limits of the town and borough of Three Rivers hereinafter described; and that the eighteenth of the the town and brough or three tives neverthing described; and that the eighteent of the said counties, to be called Hampshire, shall comprehend all that part of our said province on the northerly side of the river St. Lawrence, between the easterly side of the said county of St. Maurice and a line parallel thereto running from the south-westerly angle of a tract of land commonly called the reigniory of St. Cabriel, together with all the islands in the said river St. Lawrence nearest to the said county, and in the whole or in part fronting the same; and that the nineteenth of the said counties, to be called Quebec, shall comprehend all that part of our said province on the northerly side of the river St. Law-rence, between the easterly side of the said county of Hampshire and a line running north north-west from the south-westerly angle of a tract of lan a commonly called the seigniory of Beaupré, near the month of the river Montmorency, together with all the islands in the said river St. Lawrence nearest to the said county, and in the whole or in part fronting the same (except the island of Orleans), including within the said county the tract of land comprehended within the limits of the city and town of Quebec hereinafter described; and that the twentieth of the said counties, to be called Northumberland, shall comprehend all the rest of our said province on the northerly side of the river St. Lawrence and on the easterly side of the said county of Quebec, together with the island of Condre and all the other islands in the said river St. Lawrence meanest to the said county, and in the whole or in part fronting the same, except the island of Orleans; and that the twenty-first of the said counties, to be called Orleans, shall comprehend the said island of Orleans: And that the first of the said cities, to be called (as heretolore) the city and town of Quebec, shall comprehend all that tract or promontory of land (being part and parcel of the aforesaid country of Quebec) between the rivers of St. Lawrence and St. Charles, bounded in the rear by a right line running along the easterly from of the convent called the General Hospital, and continued from river to river; and that the said city and town of Quebec be, and the same is hereby declared to be divided into two parts, to be called respectively the Lower Town and the Upper Town, and that the said Lower Town shall comprehend all that part of the said tract or promontory of land situate below the hill called Cape Diamond, and the fortifications and high ground beyond them, including both sides of the road passing the intendant's palace and St. Roe, until the said road shall meet the afore-mentioned rear line continued from the easterly front of the General Hospital aforesaid, together with the ground up Mountain-street, on the easterly side thereof as high as the ground of the bishop's palace, not including the same, and on the westerly side of Mountain-street as high as the alley leading to the old chateau of St. Lewis, from the head of the steps opposite to the gate of the said bishop's palace; and that the said Upper Town shall comprehend all the rest of the said tract or promontory; of the second of the said cities, to be called (as heretofore) the city and town of Montreal, shall comprehend all that tract or parcel of land (being part and parcel of the aforesaid county of Montreal) bounded in front by the river St. Lawrence, and in the rear by a line parallel to the general course of the fertification walls on the rear of the said town, at the distance of too chains from the gate commonly called the St. Lawrence Gate, and bounded on the custerly or lowermost sid; by a line running parallel to the general course of the fortification walls on the easterly or lowermost side of the said town, at the distance of 100 chains from the gate towards the Quebec suburbs commonly called the Quebec Gute, and on the westerly or appermost side by a line running parallel to the general course of the fortification walls on the westerly or appermost side of the said town, at the distance of 100 chains from the gate towards the St. Anthony suburbs commonly called the Recolets Gute; and that the said city and town of Montreal be, and the same is hereby declared to be divided into two parts, to be called respectively the Easterly Ward and Westerly Ward, and that the said Easterly Ward shall comprehend all the easterly or lowermost part of the said must above described, bounded on the westerly or uppermost side by a line running through the middle of the main street of the St. Law-