Adams

Allmand

Arseneaul

Augustine Barnes

Bellemare

Bethel Bhaduria

Bodnar

Boudria

Brushett

Campbell

Collenette

Cowling

Dhaliwal

Dromisky

Eggleton

Fewchuk

Gagliano

Guarnieri

Harvard

Hubbard

Irwin

Jordan

Lee

Loney

Maloney

McGuire

Mifflin

Mitchell

Murray

O'Brien

Parrish

Payne

Peterson

Pillitteri

Rideout

Robichaud

Rompkey

Sheridan

Speller

Steckle

Telegdi

Vanclief

Volpe

Wappel

Wood-127

Ur

Thalheimen

Stewart (Northumberland)

Serré

Massé

Kraft Sloan

Gray (Windsor West)

Kilger (Stormont-Dundas)

Lavigne (Verdun-Saint-Paul)

McLellan (Edmonton Northwest)

Godfrey

Finlay

Fry

Catterall

Chan

Bélair

Government Orders

• (1305)

The standing order is clear: the first request takes precedence. Therefore, I ask you to grant my colleague's request.

[English]

Mr. Jim Silye (Calgary Centre, Ref.): Madam Speaker, I concur with the previous speaker. I support that decision. Those are the rules of the House. They are well established. They are clear. They are meant to benefit all the members of the House. I believe whoever is first should be recognized.

Second, the government whip has put extra pressure on you to consider it, a 30 second consideration. However, the extra pressure that was placed on you by the government whip failed to outline and acknowledge the fact that the other place has all of next week to do its work as well. It is sufficient time for its members to get the job done and, therefore, I would support the opposition's request.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): I have already said that I will take it under consideration. We will come back to the House within a few moments.

In the meantime we will continue with Government Orders.

INCOME TAX ACT

The House proceeded to the consideration of Bill C-70, an act to amend the Income Tax Act, the Income Tax Application Rules and related acts, as reported (with amendments) from the committee.

Hon. Sergio Marchi (for the Minister of Finance) moved that the bill, as amended, be concurred in.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Some hon. members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): Call in the members.

(The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:)

(Division No. 298)

YEAS

Members

Alcock Anawak Assadourian Axworthy (Winnipeg South Centre) Beaumier Bertrand Bevilacqua Blondin-Andrew Bonin Brown (Oakville-Milton) Bryden Bélanger Cannis Chamberlain Cohen Comuzzi Culbert Discepola Duhamel English Finestone Fontana Gaffney Gallaway Goodale Grose Harb Hopkins Ianno Jackson Keyes Kirkby Lastewka LeBlanc (Cape/Cap-Breton Highlands-Canso) Lincoln MacAulay MacLellan (Cape/Cap-Breton-The Sydneys) Malhi Marchi McCormick McKinnon McTeague Minna Murphy Nault Pagtakhan Patry Peters Phinney Reed Ringuette-Maltais Rock Scott (Fredericton-York-Sunbury) Shepherd Skoke St. Denis Stewart (Brant) Szabo Тегтапа Torsney Valeri Verran Walker Wells