Act, 1867"); and British Columbia may in its address specify the Electoral Districts for which the first election of members to serve in the House of Commons shall take place."

That such terms have proved generally acceptable to the people of this colony;

That this Council is therefore willing to enter into Union with the Dominion of Canada upon such terms, and humbly submit that under the circumstances it is expedient that the admission of this Colony into such Union, as aforesaid, should be effected at as early a date as may be found practicable under the provisions of the 146th section of the "British North America Act, 1867."

- We, therefore, humbly pray that Your Majesty will be graciously pleased, by and with the advice of Your Majesty's Most Honorable Privy Council, under the provisions of the 146th section of the "British North America Act, 1867," to admit British Columbia into the Union or Dominion of Canada on the basis of the terms and conditions offered to this Colony by the Government of the Dominion of Canada, hereinbefore set forth. And, inasmuch as by the said terms British Columbia is empowered in its address to specify the electoral districts for which the first election of members to serve in the House of Commons shall take place, we humbly pray that such electoral districts may be declared under the Order in Council to be as follows:—
- That "New Westminster District" and the "Coast District," as defined in a public notice issued from the Lands and Works Office on the 15th day of December, 1869, by the desire of the Governor and purporting to be in accordance with the provisions of the 39th clause of the "Mineral Ordinance, 1869," shall constitute one district, to be designated "New Westminster District," and return one member;
- That "Cariboo District" and "Lillooet District," as specified in the said public notice, shall constitute one district, to be designated "Cariboo District," and return one member;
- That "Yale District" and "Kootenay District," as specified in the said public notice, shall constitute one district, to be designated "Yale District," and return one member;
- That those portions of Vancouver Island known as "Victoria District," "Esquimalt District," and "Metchosin District," as defined in the official maps of those districts in the Land Office, Victoria, and which maps are designated respectively "Victoria District Official Map, 1858," "Esquimalt District Official Map, 1858," and "Metchosin District Official Map, A,D., 1858," shall constitute one district, to be designated "Victoria District," and return two members.
- And that all the remainder of Vancouver Island, and all such islands adjacent thereto, as were formerly dependencies of the late Colony of Vancouver Island, shall constitute one district, to be designated "Vancouver Island District," and return one member.

(Signed) PHILIP J. HANKIN, Speaker.