EXTRACT FROM THE MINUTES OF

CORPORATION

Meeting: March 8, 1929.

3. Dr. F.C. Harrison, Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Faculty of Graduate Studies, reported the decisions of that Faculty with regard to the changes in the organization of that Faculty and in the regulations under which degrees are obtained, the main differences between the new and the old being as follows:-

(1) the composition of the Faculty hereafter will consist of the Deans of the other University Faculties and all Professors and Associate Professors who conduct advanced courses of study or who superintend advanced research work offered to students registered for the degrees awarded by the Faculty. Other members of the University may also be elected members by the Faculty on proper notice of motion. Hitherto the members of the Faculty were appointed by the Board of Governors on the recommendation of the Principal; (2) the abolition of "Associates of the Faculty", who although not members of the Faculty have been giving some advanced instruction to graduate students; (3) the division of the Faculty into two sections to be known as the "Arts Division" and the "Science Division" respectively:

..... See minutes, pg. 134.

The several changes mentioned and the minor changes included in the report as submitted were approved and the whole will appear in the next issue of the Announcement of the Faculty.

> (Signed) C.F. Martin, Chairman."

Certified 19.2.32 Astron