First revision of 1845 (Revised Acts and Ordinances of Lower Canada, 1845), contains all the Ordinances and Acts passed since the establishment of civil government in the province, which remained in force in 1841, the date of the union of Upper and Lower Canada.

The Commissioners were Hon. Messrs. Ogden and Day, the Attorney and Solicitor-General of the province, and Messrs. Buchanan, Heney, and Wicksteed, the last-named still taking an active and intelligent interest in public affairs at ninety-four years of age.

This revision was, in one respect, peculiar, for, as pointed out in the fourth report of the Commissioners appointed in 1883 to consolidate the Quebec statutes, it never had the force of law, but was a mere compilation authorized by public authority.

Second revision of 1861 (Consolidated Statutes for Lower Canada, 1861). The Commissioners, Messrs. Antoine Polette, Q.C., Gustavus W. Wicksteed, Q.C., Andrew Stewart, Q.C., Thomas J. J. Loranger, Q.C., Robert Mackay, and George De Boucherville, were appointed about the same time as the Commission to revise the Upper Canada Statutes.

Third revision of 1888 (Revised Statutes of Quebec, 1888), sole Commissioner, Mr. T. J. J. Loranger, Q.C. His fourth report contains a very remarkable discussion of the powers of the Federation as opposed to those of the Provinces, and the following synopsis of his conclusions, which I quote from page 23, was compiled in the form of a series of maxims by which to interpret the British North America Act.

"1. The confederation of the British Provinces was the result of a compact entered into by the Provinces and the Imperial Parliament, which, in enacting the British North America Act, simply ratified it.

"2. The Provinces entered into the federal union with their corporate identity, former constitutions, and all their legislative powers, part of which they ceded to the Federal Parliament, to exercise them in their common interest and for purposes of general utility, keeping the rest which they left to be exercised by their legislatures, acting in their provincial