Parishes," as amended and adopted by the Synod, it was stated amongst other recommendations:—

"That in order to secure the better organization of Parishes and Missions now existing in the Diocese, it is in the opinion of the Committee desirable that the Diocese should be divided into Rural Deaneries; and that for this object the Lord Bishop be respectfully requested to take steps for the formation of such Deaneries.

"That it be directed by the Synod that the Clergymen and Church-wardens resident within each Rural Deanery, do within six months of the adjournment of the Diocesan Synod, or as soon after as practicable, hold a conference or conferences for the purpose of arranging and defining by mutual agreement the boundaries of their respective Parishes or Cures and report the same to the Lord Bishop for his consideration, and should his Lordship approve of the same, then the boundaries so arranged, approved and declared, shall be the boundaries of the Parishes or Cures aforesaid. And that the Bishop cause a report of the same to be laid before the Synod at the next ensuing meeting."

And I have also received a communication from the Secretary of the Missisquoi Clerical Association, forwarding to me a resolution, passed at a recent meeting, to the following effect:—.

"That the Lord Bishop of the Diocese, in view of the approaching necessity of re-organizing many of the Parishes and Missions in the District of Missisquoi, and otherwise providing for the carrying on the work of the Church therein, be respectfully requested to erect this District into a Rural Deanery, or such other official organization as his Lordship may deem expedient."

In compliance with these recommendations and believing that such an organization may be useful for the better government and administration of the affairs of this Diocese, I have arranged for the formation of four Rural Deaneries, which will comprise respectfully the following Parishes and Missions:—

## Deanery of Bedford.

Abbottsford and Rougemont.
Bedford.
Brome (Knowlton).
Cowansville and Sweetsburgh.
Dunham.
Farnham West.
Frelighsburgh.
Frost Village.
Granby.
Milton.
Philipsburgh.
Potton.
Stanbridge, East.
Stukeley, South.

Deanery of Hochelaga.

Bertbier. Côteau du Lac.

Waterloo.

New Glasgow and Kilkenny. Lachine. Laprairie and Longueuil. Mascouche and Terrebonne. Rawdon and Kildare. Sorel. St. Martin. St. Therese.

Deanery of Iberville.

Chambly.
Christieville.
Clarenceville.
Edwardstown.
Hemmingford.
Huntingdon.
Isle-aux-Nois.
Lacolle.
Napierville.
Durham (Ormstown).