The Budget--Mr. Harb

education research and development and lowest in international patents granted per capita.

A report prepared for the Canadian Chamber of Commerce indicates that the existing research and development incentives are hampered by slow and clumsy bureaucracy. Right now, many corporations must wait 24 months to receive the refundable research and development tax credit.

I notice, Mr. Speaker, that you are asking me to speed it up and I will move right on to the very end of my speech.

An Hon. Member: I want to hear more.

Mr. Harb: In summary, we must work together, government, business and the public at large to ensure that we are ready for the future. In the 1990s, the countries which will do well, which will see strong economic growth, high employment and whose people will enjoy a higher standard of living, are the countries which invest in the skills of the workforce and the excellence of research and development today.

Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): It being 5.45 p.m., it is my duty, pursuant to Standing Order 84(5), to interrupt the proceedings and put forthwith every question necessary to dispose of the amendment now before the House.

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said amendment?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the amendment, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 13)

YEAS

Members

Allmand	Alth
Anawak	Assa
Axworthy (Saskatoon – Clark's Crossing)	Bake
Barrett	Béla
Bellemare	Benj
Bevilacqua	Blac
Blackburn (Brant)	Blail
Blondin	Bou
Brewin	Broa
Butland	Caco
Callbeck	Cam
Catterall	Clar
Comuzzi	Cop
Crawford	de J
Dingwall	Dior
Duhamel	Ferg
Finestone	Fish
Flis	Font
Fulton	Gaff
Gardiner	Gau
Gray (Windsor West)	Gua
Harb	Har
Harvey (Edmonton East)	Hea
Hopkins	Hov
Hunter	Jord
Kaplan	Key
Kilger (Stormont-Dundas)	Kris
Langan (Mission-Coquitlam)	Lan
MacDonald (Dartmouth)	Mac
MacLellan	Mah
Manley	Mar
Marleau	Mar
McCurdy	McC
McLaughlin	Miff
Milliken	Mill
Murphy	Nau
Nystrom	Oue
Pagtakhan	Pare
Parker	Pete
Phinney	Pick
Proud	Pruc
Rideout	Riis
Robichaud	Roci
Rompkey	Sam
Simmons	Spel
Stewart	Stup
Taylor	Tobi
Turner (Vancouver Quadra)	Volp
Waddell	Wall
Wappel	Whi
Wood	You
Young (Beaches – Woodbine) – 103	rou
ioning (Denemes incoderme) 105	

Anderson

Atkinson

Beatty

Bird

Bernier

Blenkarn

Bourgault Brightwell

Cadieux

Cardiff

Chadwick

Blackburn (Jonguière)

Bouchard (Roberval)

louse ad er air iamin ikie Idria adhent npbell (South West Nova) ncv long nne guson itana fney thier rnieri vard debo dan stiansen gdon (Essex - Windsor) Laren heu rtin (Lasalle-Émard) Guire flin ellet ent erson ard d'homme cheleau ison nich in ker ittaker ing (Gloucester)

NAYS

Members

Andre Attewell Belsher Bertrand Bjornson Blais Bosley Bouchard (Lac–Saint–Jean) Boyer Browes Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Casey Champagne (Champlain)