# Employment Equity

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. I take it, on Motions Nos. 8, 11A, 12A, 14A, 16A, 19B, 21A, 24, 25A, 26A and 27A, that the vote shall count as just recorded.

Mr. Gray (Windsor West): Mr. Speaker, I was unable to be present for the vote just taken. Since I have now entered the House, I presume my vote will be counted with the others of the Official Opposition on the motions Your Honour just read out.

Mr. Speaker: Yes.

Mr. Allmand: Mr. Speaker, I think you failed to mention Motions Nos. 39 and 39A.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. I am trying to do it in some order. On the motions so far called there is an understanding, with the addition of the Hon. Member for Windsor West.

Mr. Gagnon: Would you recognize my vote, please, Mr. Speaker?

Mr. Speaker: Yes, in opposition, and I take it the Hon. Member for Windsor West will be added in support.

The next vote will be on Motion No. 8. Mr. Nystrom moves: Motion No. 8

That Bill C-62, be amended in Clause 3 by striking out lines 13 to 15 at page 2.

The House divided on Motion No. 8 (Mr. Nystrom), which was negatived on the following division:

## (Division No. 220)

# YEAS

## Members

Allmand	Finestone	Mitchell
Althouse	Fulton	Murphy
Baker	Gagliano	Nicholson
Benjamin	Gauthier	(Trinity)
Berger	Gray	Orlikow
Blackburn	(Windsor West)	Parry
(Brant)	Heap	Penner
Blaikie	Johnston	Pépin
Caccia	(Saint-Henri-West-	Riis
Cassidy	mount)	Robinson
Copps	Kaplan	Rodriguez
Deans	Keeper	Rossi
de Corneille	Langdon	Tobin
Epp	Manly	Waddell
(Thunder Bay-Nipigon)	McCurdy	Young-39.

### NAYS

### Members

ossitt
ofton
osbie
(St. John's West)
osby
(Halifax West)
ouse
rling
sjardins
ck

#### Members

Domm	Joncas	Plamondon
Dorin	Lawrence	Plourde
Epp	Lesick	Porter
(Provencher)	Lewis	Price
Fennell	MacDonald	Redway
Ferland	(Kingston and	Reid
Fontaine	the Islands)	St. Germain
Fretz	MacDougall	St-Julien
Friesen	(Timiskaming)	Schellenberg
	Malone	(Nanaimo-Alberni)
Gagnon Girard	Mantha	Scott
0.1141.0	Marin	(Victoria-Haliburton)
Gottselig	Martin	Scott
Greenaway	Mayer	(Hamilton-Wentworth)
Grisé	Mazankowski	
Gurbin	McCrossan	Sparrow Stackhouse
Gustafson	McCuish	Stevens
Halliday	McDermid	
Hamilton	McGrath	Suluk
Hardey	McKenzie	Taylor
Hawkes	McKinnon	Thacker
Hees		Towers
Hicks	McKnight	Tremblay
Hnatyshyn	Merrithew	(Québec-Est)
Hockin	Minaker	Tupper
Horner	Mitges	Turner
Howie	Murta	(Ottawa-Carleton)
Hudon	Nicholson	Vézina
Jardine	(Niagara Falls)	Vincent
Jelinek	Nielsen	Warner
Johnson	O'Neil	Weiner
(Bonavista-Trinity-	Oostrom	Wenman
Conception)	Paproski	Winegard-112.
	Pennock	

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost. The next vote is on Motion No. 11A. Mr. Allmand moves:

## Motion No. 11A

That Bill C-62, be amended in Clause 3 by adding immediately after line 24 at page 2 the following:

"reasonable accommodation includes, without restriction, the reasonable adaptation of the workplace, hiring practices or the job description to accommodate the needs of designated groups, including the special needs of a qualified disabled person, through provision for physical accessibility, assistive devices, flexible job design and modification, and human support services".

The House divided on Motion No. 11A (Mr. Allmand), which was negatived on the following division:

# (Division No. 221)

## YEAS

#### Members

Allmand	Finestone	Mitchell
Althouse	Fulton	Murphy
Baker	Gagliano	Nicholson
Benjamin	Gauthier	(Trinity)
Berger	Gray	Orlikow
Blackburn	(Windsor West)	Parry
(Brant)	Heap	Penner
Blaikie	Johnston	Pépin
Caccia	(Saint-Henri-West-	Riis
Cassidy	mount)	Robinson
Copps	Kaplan	Rodriguez
Deans	Keeper	Rossi
de Corneille	Langdon	Tobin
Epp	Manly	Waddell
(Thunder Bay-Nipigon)	McCurdy	Young-39