TREATY REGULATING THE STATUS OF SPITSBERGEN AND CONFERRING THE SOVEREIGNTY ON NORWAY

Signed at Paris, February 9, 1920*

THE President of the United States of America; His Majesty the King of Great Britain and Ireland and of the British Dominions beyond the Seas, Emperor of India; His Majesty the King of Denmark; the President of the French Republic; His Majesty the King of Italy; His Majesty the Emperor of Japan; His Majesty the King of Norway; Her Majesty the Queen of the Netherlands; His Majesty the King of Sweden,

Desirous, while recognizing the sovereignty of Norway over the Archipelago of Spitsbergen, including Bear Island, of seeing these territories provided with an equitable régime, in order to assure their development and peaceful utilisation,

Have appointed as their respective Plenipotentiaries with a view to concluding a Treaty to this effect:

The President of the United States of America:

Mr. Hugh Campbell Wallace, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America at Paris;

His Majesty the King of Great Britain and Ireland and of the British Dominions beyond the Seas, Emperor of India:

The Right Honourable the Earl of Derby, K.G., G.C.V.O., C.B., His Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary at Paris;

And

for the Dominion of Canada:

The Right Honourable Sir George Halsey Perley, K.C.M.G., High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom;

for the Commonwealth of Australia:

The Right Honourable Andrew Fisher, High Commissioner for Australia in the United Kingdom;

for the Dominion of New Zealand:

The Right Honourable Sir Thomas Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., High Commissioner for New Zealand in the United Kingdom;

for the Union of South Africa:

Mr. Reginald Andrew Blankenberg, O.B.E., Acting High Commissioner for South Africa in the United Kingdom;

for India:

The Right Honourable the Earl of Derby, K.G., G.C.V.O., C.B.;

His Majesty the King of Denmark:

Mr. Herman Anker Bernhoft, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary of His Majesty the King of Denmark at Paris;

^{*} The Treaty was actually signed on behalf of Canada on the 7th April, 1920.