Mackenzie Valley Pipeline

what we would be accepting if we adopted his recommendations and approach, and in fact be prepared to give full support to the implementation of his ideas and suggestions for the north—

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Order.

Mr. Paproski: Order.

Mr. Gillespie: Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

[Translation]

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Order, please. It being 3:35 p.m., it is my duty to interrupt proceedings and to put forthwith every question necessary to dispose of the supply proceedings now before the House under the provisions of Standing Order 58(9)(a).

[English]

The question is on the motion of Mr. Broadbent. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Carried.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nav.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Broadbent) which was negatived on the following division:

• (1550)

(Division No. 45)

YEAS

Messrs.

Benjamin Blackburn Brewin Broadbent Caouette Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Firth Gilbert Hogan Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Leggatt Nystrom Orlikow Peters—14. (Division No. 45)

NAYS

Messrs.

Abbott Duclos Allmand Anderson Andras (Port Arthur) Andre (Calgary Centre) Andres (Lincoln) Appolloni (Mrs.) Baker (Gander-Twillingate) Baker (Grenville-Carleton) Baldwin Balfour Basford Rawden Beatty Béchard Bégin (Miss) Blaker Blouin Breau Brisco Buchanan Cafik Campagnolo (Mrs.) Campbell (Miss) (South Western Nova) Campbell (LaSalle-Émard-Côte Saint-Paul) Caron Chrétien Clark (Rocky Mountain) Clermont Collenette Condon Corbin Croshie Crouse Cullen Danson Darling Daudlin De Bané Demers Diefenbaker Dinsdale Dionne

Dupont Dupras Duquet Epp Ethier Faulkner Flynn Forrestall Foster Fox Francis Fraser Friesen Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier) Gendron Gillespie Gillies Goodale Grafftey Gray Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Halliday Hamilton (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Harquail Herbert Hnatyshyr Holt (Mrs.) Horner Howie Isabelle Johnston Joval Kaplan Lachance Lajoie Lalonde Landers Lang Langlois Laniel Lapointe Lawrence Leblanc (Laurier) Lee Lefebvre Lessard Loiselle (Chambly) Loiselle (Saint-Henri) Lumley MacDonald (Cardigan)

MacDonald (Egmont) MacEachen MacFarlane MacGuigan Marceau Marchand Marshall Martin Mazankowski McCleave McIsaac McKinnon McRae Milne Muir Munro (Hamilton East) Neil Nicholson (Miss) Nowlan Oberle Olivier O'Sullivar Ouellet Paproski Parent Pelletier Penner Philbrook Pigott (Mrs.) Portelance Poulin Railton Raines Reid Richardson Roberts Rompkey Rooney Roy (Laval) Sauvé (Mrs.) Smith (Churchill) Smith (Saint-Jean) Stanfield Stevens Tessier Towers Watson Wenman Whelan Whiteway Whittaker Woolliams Yanakis Yewchuk-159.

(1600)

Douglas

Drury

(Northumberland-

Miramichi)

(Bruce-Grey)

Mr. Speaker: I therefore declare the motion lost.

Pursuant to the order made earlier this week, and it being after four o'clock, this House now stands adjourned until Monday next at two o'clock in the afternoon.

At 4.10 p.m. the House adjourned, without question put, pursuant to Special Order.