DOMINION ARMS.

The Arms of the Dominion of Canada, were promulgated by Royal Proclamatiun in 1870. They consist of the arms of the five Provinces quartered, and arranged according to the amount of population in each.

ARMS.

1st. Grand Quarter. Vert (Green) three maple leaves from one stem Or (Gold) on a a chief argent (White), a cross gules (Red) - for Ontario.

2nd. Or (Gold) upon a fesse gules (Red), between in chief two fleurs-de-lys azure blue, and in base three Maple leaves joined in one stem Vert, (Green) a lion passant

gardent Or (Gold) for Quebec.

3rd. Or (Gold) upon the waves of the sea proper of its natural colors a lymphad [ancient galley] sails black with flags gules [Red] the lion of England gold for New Brunswick.

4th. Or [Gold] upon a fesse wavy azure [Blue] between three thistles proper of their natural colors a salmon

najant argent [White] for Nova Scotia.

5th. Vert a buffalo passant Or [Gold] upon a chief argent [White] a cross gules [Red] charged with an imperial Crown proper for Manitoba.

Over all an Imperial Crown gold, turned up ermine and lined Crimson. The whole within a wreath of

Maple and Oak leaves, the Oak apples gold.

The arms of each Province, are used in the Province or on its Great Seal. The arms of each Province are made to bear the emblems of the history of the territory thus: Quebec has the fleurs-de-lys of France as descended from that country, the lion of England as being now a part of that nation, and the maple leaves of Canada. Ontario St George's Cross as descended from England, and the maple leaves of Canada &c., &c.