- Oise (wäz): A northern department of France formed of the old provinces of Isle de France and Picardy. Also a river in France.
- Oceania: One of the islands of the Bismarck Archipelago; belongs to Germany.
- Orchies (or'shee'): A town of France in Nord, 16 miles south-east of Lille.
- Ostend: A seaport of Belgium in West Flanders on the North Sea.
- Ossowiec (oso-ve-ĕts) Russian fort: On the frontier between West Russia and East Prussia.
- Osterode or Tannenburg (ŏs'ter-ōdŭ): A village of Prussia 75 miles west of Konigsberg.
- Ortelsburg (or'tels-bŏŏrg): A town of East Prussia 82 miles south south-east of Konigsberg.
- Ostrowiec (os-tro've-ĕts): A town in South Poland about 150 miles south of Warsaw.

P

- Przemysl (pzhěm'is'l): A town of Austria, in Galicia.
- Przasnysz (pzhäs'nish): A town and strong fortress of Austria-Hungary in Galicia, 59 miles north-east of Plock.
- **Penang Harbour:** A British possession, one of the Straits Settlements.
- Poland: An extensive country of central Europe.
- Pola: A fortified seaport and the chief naval station of Austria-Hungary, 55 miles south by east of Trieste.
- Pont-a-Mousson (pōn'tä-moos'sōn): A town of France 15 miles north north-west of Nancy, on the Moselle.
- Plain of Troy: An ancient city of Asia Minor. The Troad (or Plain of Troy) borders on the Hellespont.
- Pinsk: A town of Russia, 143 miles south south-west of Minsk on the Pripet.
- Prilep: A town of European Turkey about 25 miles north-east of Monastir.
- Pristina (properly Prish'tina): A town of European Turkey, 30 miles east of Prisrend in the valley of Kossovo.
- Prisrend: A town of European Turkey, capital of the Vilayet of Kossovo.