Wherefore we the said Notaries, at the request aforesaid, and speaking as aforesaid, did, as by these presents we do, most solemnly protest as well against the said Andrew Ferdinand Holmes, and Aaron Hart David in their said capacities, as against Joseph Morrin, the President of said College, Jean Blanchet, one of the Vice-Presidents, Pierre Martial Bardy, one of the Secretaries, James Arthur Sewell, Alfred Jackson, Jean L. Nault, William Marsden, Robert H. Russel, March Paschal De Sales La Terrière, Alexis Thomas Michaud, Anthony Von Iffland, David S. Marquis, Ludger Tetu, Joseph Marmette, Tiburce Charest, George Badeau, William A. Robert Gilmor, Louis Edouard Dubord, William Hollingworth Fowler, James Bell Johnston, M. Sylvester Glines, George William Campbell, William Sutherland, Archibald Hall, Hector T. Peltier, Joshua Chamberlain, M. F. Valois, Remy Claude Wilbrenner, Thomas Bouthillier, Stephen Sewell Foster, Josias S. Brigham, Charles Smallwood and Jean Gaspard Bibaud, officers of said College of Physicians and Surgeons of Lower Canada, and all others whom the same doth, shall, or may in any wise concern, against the validity of the several Licenses granted, and the right or power of the said Board of the said College of Physicians and Surgeons to assume and take upon themselves to grant such Licenses to Joseph Garvey, John Easton, George H. Boulter, Buckham, G. G. Demorest, Allen Ruttan, Richard Weir, Edward Buck, Victor Perrault, Angus MacDonnell, Amable Simard, Joseph Moore, Robert Thompson, Newton W. Powell, Eric Sparham and Henry Ridley, at the meeting of the Board of Governors of the said College of Physicians and Surgeons of Lower Canada, held on the eleventh day of May instant, and which said meeting was held according to Law for the purpose of admitting Gentlemen to the Study of Medicine for the examination of Students, and for the granting of Licenses to such as produced degrees or diplomas, lawfully obtained from Universities or Colleges in her Majesty's Dominions, inasmuch as the degrees produced by the said Joseph Garvey, Henry J. Ridley, John Easton, George H. Boulter, Buckham, G. G. Demorest, Allen Ruttan, Richard Weir, Edward Buck, Eric Sparham, Victor Perrault, Angus MacDonnell, Amable Simard, Joseph Moore, Robert Thompson, and Newton W. Powell, obtained respectively this Spring at the University of McGill College, were obtained in accordance with the statutes which regulate the medical curriculum of the said College only, and not in conformity with, but on the contrary and in direct contravention of, the clauses, rules and regulations above mentioned, and for all which we do hereby most solemnly protest.

And to the end that the said Andrew Ferdinand Holmes and Aaron Hart David, in their several capacities, may not plead ignorance in the