Henry Alsop, il, Treasurer, ity — Robert Treasurer; Iare, Charles nry K Dick-

John Macirer. James ries Rankin, Medical Ad-

President.
Treasurer.
D, Medical

it. Edward e-President.

ran Walsh,

hn Power, rick Dealy, es Keough, r. Charles

Christopher

sident and

t and Trea-

Fitzgerald, w T Dryst. Robert to Maher.

son, Treas

Joint Stock Companies, Public Societies, &c.

New York, Newfoundland, and London Telegraph Company.— Directors in New York—Peter Cooper, Moses Taylor, Cyrus W Field, Marshal O Roberts, Wilson G Hunt.

Peter Cooper, President. Cyrus W Field, Vice-President. Moses Taylor, Treasurer. Professor S F B Morse, Electrician. David D Field, Counsel. John W Brett, Local Manager, London, England. Ambrose Shea. Local Manager, St. John's, Newfoundland. Francis N Gisborne, Chief Engineer.

Newfoundland Sleam Pocket Company—Directors—Hon Thomas Ridley, Edward E Brown, William Donnelly, William Brown, William S Green, John Norman, Hon John Munn, Patrick Deverenz, John Rorke, Hon James Cormack, Azariah Mundon, Joha Fox. Chairman and Agent, William Donnelly. Secretary, John Hayward.

St John's Gas Light Company—Directors—Walter Grieve. President; Robert Prowse, Vice-President; Hon Laurence O'Brieu, Richard O'Dwyer, John Bowring, Stephen Rendell, Christopher Ayre. John M Brine, Tressurer and Secretary. Andrew Thompson, Manager.

St John's Water Company—Directors—Robert Prowse, President; Charles F Bennett, Vice-President; Walter Grieve, Patrick Tasker, Stephen Rendell, Richard O'Dwyer, F C K Hepburn, William J Ward, Secretary. William Coyell, Superintendent. Union Bank of Newfoundland, Bankers.

St John's Library and Reading Room—, President.
Peter G Tessier and John Fox, Vice-Presidents. Thomas Mos Connan, Treasurer. James Seaton, Secretary. Robert Rodger. Librarian. Committee—Hon Philip Duggan, William Pitts, James Murray, John H Cozens, Mathew W Walbank, Robert Wilson.

Mechanics Institute——, President. Charles F Bennett and John Fox., Vice-Presidents. William H Ellis, Curator of Museum. Andrew H Thompson, Curator of Apparatus. Thomas McConnan, Treasurer. James Seaton, Secretary. Committee—William Pitts, James O Fraser, Hon Edmund Harrahan, James S Clift, John MacGregor. William Coyell, John Saunders, Charles S Warren, John Bowring.

St John's Athenœum—, President, Charles F Bennett and John Fox, Vice-Presidents. Directors—Committee of the Mechanics Institute. James Seaton, Secretary and Treasurer, Bank of British North America, Bankers.

Newfoundland Benefit Building and Investment Society—Established, March, 1851. Directors—Bryan Robinson, President; Hen Luurence O'Brien, Patrick Tasker. Bank B N America, Baukers. Hugh W Hoyles, Solicitor. William J Ward, Secretary. Office—Duckworth Street, West of the Exchange Buildings.

Permanent Loan and Investment Society of St John's, Nid.— Established June, 1854. Directors—Bryan Robinson, President;