10 SENATE

Davies, Dessureault, Duffus, Euler, Fergusson, Fraser, Gouin, *Haig, Hawkins, Howard, Kinley, Lambert, Leonard, *Macdonald, Mac-Kinnon, McKeen, McLean, Molson, Nicol, Paterson, Petten, Pouliot, Pratt, Smith (British Columbia), Turgeon and Vaillancourt. (31).

*Ex officio member.

PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE

The Honourable Senators Blais, Burchill, Comeau, Connolly (Halifax North), Dupuis, Farris, Fergusson, Gershaw, Golding, Gouin, Grant, *Haig, Hawkins, Howden, Inman, Jodoin, Kinley, *Macdonald, McGrand, McGuire, McIntyre, Pratt, Roebuck, Smith (Queens Shelburne), Stambaugh, Veniot, Wall and Wilson. (26)

*Ex officio member.

CIVIL SERVICE ADMINISTRATION

The Honourable Senators Aseltine, Bishop, Bouchard, Cameron, Davies, Dessureault, Dupuis, Gouin, *Haig, Kinley, Leger, *Macdonald, Marcotte, Quinn, Roebuck, Taylor (Norfolk), Turgeon and Wilson. (16) *Ex officio member.

PUBLIC BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS

The Honourable Senators Aseltine, Barbour, Connolly (Ottawa West), Dessureault, *Haig, Horner, Lambert, *Macdonald, McGrand, McGuire, Paterson, Pouliot, Quinn, Wall and Wilson. (13)

*Ex officio member.

All which is respectfully submitted.

A. L. Beaubien, Chairman.

APPENDIX "C"

(See p. 4)

The

Unveiling of the Statue of

SIR ROBERT BORDEN

on

Tuesday, January 8, 1957

Speeches of the Right Honourable Louis S. St. Laurent, Prime Minister; the Honourable Wishart McL. Robertson, Speaker of the Senate; the Honourable L. René Beaudoin, Speaker of the House of Commons; Mr. Henry Borden; Mr. J. G. Diefenbaker, Leader of the Opposition; Mr. M. J. Coldwell, Leader of the C.C.F. Party, and Mr. Solon E. Low, Leader of the Social Credit Party.

Hon. Wishart McL. Robertson (Speaker of the Senate): Ladies and gentlemen, "O Canada".

(Whereupon the gathering sang O Canada.) Mr. Prime Minister, Mr. Chief Justice, Mr. Speaker of the House of Commons, ladies and gentlemen: We are assembled here to do honour to the memory of a great Canadian, the Right Honourable Sir Robert Borden, a former Prime Minister of Canada. We, and the unseen audience, through the magic of television, have just witnessed the unveiling of the statue to his memory, located on a site just west of the West Block on Parliament Hill. For seasonal reasons the continuing ceremonies are being held in the Hall of Honour of the Centre Block.

Seated on the platform in addition to the co-chairman, the Honourable L. René Beaudoin, Speaker of the House of Commons, are:

Right Honourable L. S. St. Laurent,
Prime Minister of Canada
Honourable Patrick Kerwin,
Chief Justice of Canada

Mr. Henry Borden
Honourable W. Ross Macdonald,
Government Leader in the Senate
Mr. John G. Diefenbaker,
Leader of the Opposition
Mrs. Henry Borden
Honourable T. A. Crerar

Honourable George Drew Honourable J. T. Haig,

Leader of the Opposition in the Senate Mr. John Bracken

Mr. M. J. Coldwell,

Leader of the C.C.F. party

Mr. Solon E. Low,

Leader of the Social Credit party.

The Right Honourable Arthur Meighen, the Honourable Esioff L. Patenaude and the Honourable Albert A. Sevigny were invited to attend but expressed their regrets. They, with Senator Crerar, are the only surviving members of Sir Robert's Government.

Ladies and gentlemen, the Speaker of the House of Commons.